Always a reason to celebrate

linking with Five Minute Friday at katemotaung.com – write for five minutes on a given prompt, which today is “celebrate”

Celebrate In Blue

I should probably warn you before I start that I am in a bit of a weird mood today and don’t really feel like celebrating.  I won’t bore you with the details but there are some difficult circumstances and just a general feeling of weariness and struggling to rise above it.  I usually am a very positive person and I know from experience that I’ll probably feel myself again tomorrow, but today I wasn’t sure whether to attempt to write on the prompt “celebrate”.

Then I discovered this website which lists things that are celebrated for every day of the year, and I discovered that we can always find something to celebrate.

Apparently today is Cheeseburger Day, Hug a Greetings Card Writer Day and Respect Day (though surely that should be every day).

If you think that is strange, then check out the rest of the month of September.  The website informs me that 6th September is Read a Book Day and 7th September is Buy a Book Day- shouldn’t that be the other way round?  And apparently 11th September is Hot Cross Bun Day- I didn’t even think they were sold except leading up to Easter.

Some of my favourites are 5th September which was Cheese Pizza Day, 9th September which was Teddy Bear Day and 16th September which was Play Doh Day, and I look forward to Talk Like a Pirate Day tomorrow and Ask a Stupid Question Day on 30th September.

It reminded me of the truth though that there is always a reason to celebrate.  Some of the celebrations listed on the website sound a bit crazy but maybe we should be better at celebrating the little things like books and Play Doh and pizza.

And, I know, in looking for things to celebrate (as in everything else) I should take my own advice and Look to God, not Google.  There truly is always something to celebrate, regardless of circumstances, regardless of how we feel.  These verses encourage me today:

“Have you never heard?  Have you never understood?  The Lord is the everlasting God, the Creator of all the earth.
He never grows weak or weary.  No one can measure the depths of his understanding.  He gives power to the weak and strength to the powerless.  Even youths will become weak and tired, and young men will fall in exhaustion.  But those who trust in the Lord will find new strength.  They will soar high on wings like eagles.  They will run and not grow weary.  They will walk and not faint.”  (Isaiah 40:28-31)

8 thoughts on “Always a reason to celebrate

  1. God knew (as He always does) exactly whose #FMF neighbor I needed to be today cause I really needed your words. The last few months have been hard ones for my family. We have had little that we felt we could or should celebrate. Thanks for the reminder that there is always something to celebrate.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks, Amy. I’m glad you found the post helpful. I needed to remind myself too. I love how often God uses these link-ups to lead us to exactly the words we need to hear.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Carly, it was a week when I didn’t necessarily feel like celebrating either which is unusual for me too! Yes God not Google! And love the fun crazy things to celebrate! 🙂 I’m parked in the #6 spot this week.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Every morning, I share in She Reads Truth. Then I sit in quiet and listen for God. As I sat, I heard, “Celebrate.”

    By 8:00 am, my spirit soared, but my body lagged. I was late to school, I was juggling too many bags, and my hair wasn’t even been brushed. My hope was to just breathe. 😉

    How could I possibly celebrate when I could hardly breathe?

    And then it happened. A student gave me jelly bellies. Wrapped in love. Just because. And I remembered the many little, yet magical, moments to celebrate. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Amy, that is such a lovely story. Thanks for sharing it here- it encourages me a lot. That’s amazing that God gave you that same word, “Celebrate” and the gift from your student is lovely. There definitely are lots of little moments that are worth celebrating.

      Like

Leave a Reply

