Bacon Sandwiches And Salvation

linking with Five Minute Friday at katemotaung.com – write for five minutes on a given prompt, which today is “bacon”

Rasher Of Bacon

For those of you who haven’t heard of Five Minute Friday, every week a prompt is posted and the challenge is to write a blog post in five minutes, without editing or overthinking, on the prompt.  I have been doing this regularly over the last few months, (though I am not good at all at keeping to the rules) and, since I have connected with some wonderful people, I wanted to keep it up, even during the busyness of the Write 31 Days challenge.

I have to say I am flagging.  Blogging every day for 31 days is a huge task (although very rewarding) so I was hoping for an easy prompt today- and then I discovered it is “bacon”.  And apparently this was the result of a vote from Five Minute Friday participants, so thank you to you all!  (Can you detect the sarcasm?)  I’m joking- I love you really, and it was actually very interesting to find out the story behind why the word “bacon” means so much to longer-term Five Minute Friday posters.  (You can read it here.)

Anyway, now I’m just procrastinating…

A book title comes to mind- “Bacon Sandwiches and Salvation”.  It’s by Adrian Plass, a British author.  I would highly recommend his books- they are honest, authentic, humorous and thought-provoking.  He has a great way of presenting difficult truth in an entertaining way and, when I first discovered his writing, it helped me look at God and the church in a whole new way.

Anyway the book is given this title because, in his opinion, bacon sandwiches and salvation are the two best things in the world.  (Confession:  I’m not entirely with him on that- I’m not a massive bacon fan.  I won’t argue about salvation being pretty amazing.)

I suspect a lot of people would agree with him- and it strikes me that it would not be possible for us to enjoy either of these things without Jesus.

Back in Old Testament times, bacon sandwiches were not an option.  Leviticus 11:7-8 is pretty clear that eating meat from a pig is not allowed.  It’s not until Acts 10 that things change.  Peter has a dream where lots of animals are lowered down before him on a sheet and God tells him to kill and eat.  When Peter argues that he will not eat anything considered unclean, he is told, “Do not call something unclean if God has made it clean.”

Later (Acts 15) there is a discussion about whether or not people who had become Christians have to follow the Jewish laws around things like diet, and it is decided that they don’t.  Jesus has changed things!  

“Now we have been released from the law, for we died to it and are no longer captive to its power.  Now we can serve God, not in the old way of obeying the letter of the law, but in the new way of living in the Spirit.”  (Romans 7:6)

So, because of Jesus, we are free to eat bacon!  It’s not the most obvious benefit of all that he did, but it’s worth celebrating just the same.  Maybe next time we eat bacon, it can remind us of the other amazing gifts that are only possible because of Jesus.

“Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved.”  (Acts 4:12)

 

8 thoughts on “Bacon Sandwiches And Salvation

Leave a Reply

