Weary And Weak

linking with Five Minute Friday at katemotaung.com – write for five minutes on a given prompt, which today is “weary”

Eagle Moon

I think we all have those days when we just feel weary- when life just feels too much and it’s a struggle to keep going.  For me anyway, it’s not so much in the crisis situations as in the days when the little frustrations mount up- well-made plans fall through, people are unreliable, hard work and effort seem to achieve nothing.  It’s in the times when I pray and pray about a situation and do everything I can but nothing seems to change, and I just don’t understand what God is doing.

The temptation on these kind of days is to look at all that is happening around me and give in to hopelessness – to hibernate or to hide- or else to look to myself to sort things out and to try even harder to fix it.  But both those paths only increase the weariness.

What if, instead, I could look to God?

“Have you never heard?  Have you never understood?  The Lord is the everlasting God, the Creator of all the earth.  He never grows weak or weary.  No-one can measure the depths of his understanding.  He gives power to the weak and strength to the powerless.  Even youths will become weak and tired, and young men will fall in exhaustion.  But those who trust in the Lord will find new strength.  They will soar high on wings like eagles.  They will run and not grow weary.  They will walk and not faint.”  (Isaiah 40:28-31)

When my focus is here, I see that it’s ok to be weary- it’s part of being human- weakness, weariness and tiredness are normal in life.  I don’t have to be the one with all the answers, I don’t have to be strong, I don’t have to fix the world.

Instead I can look to God, the powerful Creator, the one who never grows weary, the one who is sovereign over all the little frustrations and all the serious problems, the one who loves us and who promises us his strength if we will only turn to him and stop trying to fix it for ourselves.

Jesus said, “Come to me, all you who are weary and carry heavy burdens and I will give you rest.”  (Matthew 11:28)

Jesus, I come.

13 thoughts on “Weary And Weak

  1. You raise me up is such a great song. Life has been wearing on me and I’m weary. Weary of so much. I love the promises found in Scripture. We can come to him and he will give us rest. I’m parked over in the #6 spot this week.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m also seeing it as comforting, not dismal. Yesterday was very wet here too. Today’s just cold, and there have been some hard things to deal with- nothing awful, but I am feeling weary, and I’m grateful I can look to God for strength rather than trying to work it up for myself.

      Like

  2. Loved reading your post. Life has a habit of grinding us down, doesn’t it, with all its small annoyances….but, as you say, we can always look up/in to find Him and then the burdens are alleviated. Great post. Loved it. Thank you. Helen

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes, I’ve been one of those that tries to sort it out and do it all. I must solve the problem we are facing! Those were my words. I am finally learning to trust the God of the universe to handle this. He has been reminding me that there is nothing new under the sun. There’s nothing I’m facing that He has not already dealt with so I can trust Him and live a more relaxed life with less stress. Thanks for sharing these words with us! Happy Friday to you! (Your neighbor at FMF)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

