Come To The Table

linking with Five Minute Friday at katemotaung.com – write for five minutes on a given prompt, which today is “table”

Give Bread 3

In the months I have been taken part in Five Minute Friday, this has probably been the prompt I have found the hardest.  It has been in the back of my mind all day and I have felt empty- of words, of thoughts, of inspiration- that I have nothing to bring to the table.

And then I remember that is the whole point.  It is not that I come to the table on the merit of my wise words or good behaviour or profound insights, it is not that I prove myself worthy to come to the table by what I bring; it is simply that I come, empty-handed, to receive.

The invitation is for you too:

Come hungry, and feast on his goodness.
Come thirsty, and drink of his living water.
Come broken, and receive healing.
Come weary, and receive strength.
Come in sin, and receive forgiveness.
Come in turmoil, and receive his peace.
Come in sorrow, and be filled with his joy.
Come empty, and be satisfied.
Come as you are, and receive his unconditional love.

“On the night when he was betrayed, the Lord Jesus took some bread and gave thanks to God for it. Then he broke it in pieces and said, “This is my body, which is given for you.  Do this to remember me.” In the same way, he took the cup of wine after supper, saying, “This cup is the new covenant between God and his people—an agreement confirmed with my blood. Do this to remember me as often as you drink it.”  (1 Corinthians 11:23-25)

So come, not in your own strength or your own goodness, but in his, because his body was broken and his blood was shed for you.

“Lord Jesus, we come to this your table not because  we are strong, but because we are weak; not because any goodness of our own gives us the right to come, but because we need your mercy and your help; not because of anything we have achieved, but because you  died for sinners. Glory be to you, our living Saviour and Lord.”

12 thoughts on “Come To The Table

  1. beautiful words Carly. It’s never on our merit is it? It’s all God all the time. Somehow He always finds a way to bring words to the most difficult prompts, I have to push myself sometimes to just sit down and start typing. It’s many of those times that I’m amazed at what comes out 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Christy. It’s amazing what can come out sometimes when you start typing. Sometimes even if I do think I know what I want to say, it comes out completely different once I get started.

      Like

Leave a Reply

