Surviving The Changing Seasons

linking with Five Minute Friday at katemotaung.com – write for five minutes on a given prompt, which today is “season”

winter-417172_1280

Winter is not my favourite season.  I like Christmas, and I love the cold, crisp, sunny days we get every now and then, but I hate the darkness and I often find the weather gets me down.

Last night we had snow and, not far from where I live, several people had to abandon their cars by the side of the road.  Today it is warmer but still very wet and blowing a gale outside.

I hate the unpredictability of the weather.  It reminds me that I am not in control.  I just have to take it as it comes and deal with it.

There are different seasons in life as well- seasons of joy, seasons of sorrow, seasons of growth, seasons of pain- and much as I hate to admit it, I am not in control of those either.

One thing I do have control over though is how I respond.  Do I fret and worry and become anxious over things I cannot change?  Or do I turn to the one who is in control, the one who is always the same, despite the changing seasons of life?

I know which is the better solution, though I can’t say it is always the one I choose.

Blessed are those who trust in the Lord and have made the Lord their hope and confidence.  They are like trees planted along a riverbank, with roots that reach deep into the water.  Such trees are not bothered by the heat or worried by long months of drought.  Their leaves stay green, and they never stop producing fruit.  (Jeremiah 17:7-8)

“Anyone who listens to my teaching and follows it is wise, like a person who builds a house on solid rock.  Though the rain comes in torrents and the floodwaters rise and the winds beat against that house, it won’t collapse because it is built on bedrock.”  (Matthew 7:24-25)

Trusting God and continuing to follow him despite the changing seasons means we can stand firm and even bear fruit- that it is possible not only to survive, but to thrive.

8 thoughts on “Surviving The Changing Seasons

  1. Not just survive but thrive (Bethany Boring uses that as her tag line and it’s oh so true.) I forgot that I’m not in control too. We have like no snow here….unseasonably warm. I’m parked in the #46 spot this week.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh Amen! I am spoiled out West… we have four seasons – but even in Winter here, we usually have sunshine and blue skies more often than not! But too many days in a row all fogged in and dark most definitely can pull me down! Great post! Here’s to thriving in all seasons!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Carly,
    oooh!! Beautiful!!!!!!!!!! As a recovering control-monster, I’m so thankful for each word you typed. This is why my season is so challenging-giving control to the Lord. I’m a middle-school math teacher and losing control of the class is a fear I’ve had to give to Him. He is so good and has really helped me. I’ve got other teachers that have come alongside and helped me as well. It’s been a blessing and a joy to be transformed, though it was rough in the meantime.
    Thank you again for visiting me as well!
    Love,
    Tammy
    (#6 on FMF this week)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Tammy. Your job sounds like a big challenge but I’m glad you’ve known God with you, growing you through it and that you’ve had support from other teachers as well. I love how even when we have seasons that are challenging God can work so much good in us through them.

      Like

Leave a Reply

