Reflect

linking with Five Minute Friday at katemotaung.com – write for five minutes on a given prompt, which today is “reflect”

Pond, Reflection, Drakensberg

As I consider the Christmas Story, one detail that stands out to me is Mary’s response to all that happened that night in Bethlehem.  As the shepherds return to their sheep after visiting Jesus, Luke records that “Mary kept all these things in her heart and thought about them often.”  (Luke 2:19)

I relate a lot to that.  I have always been someone who reflects on things and it is a trait that has both positives and negatives.  It means that I think deeply about things and sometimes have insights that others don’t, but it also means that I am not always good at thinking on the spot.  When I am asked my opinion about something I find it difficult to give a quick answer unless it is something I have had time to think about.  Often it is only after a discussion or a meeting that I think of something I wish I had said at the time but that only came to mind later after further reflection.

Even with Five Minute Friday I need time to reflect.  If I looked at the prompt and sat down immediately to type for five minutes you definitely wouldn’t get much sense out of me.  Instead I tend to look at the prompt in the morning, have it floating around in the back of my mind all day and then write the post later on.  By that point I have usually had time to process my thoughts and have some idea what I want to say.

When you are a reflective person it is important to make sure you are reflecting on helpful things.  Reflect too much on difficult circumstances and possible outcomes and it can far too easily turn to worry.  That’s why it is so important to reflect on God and on his Word.

A verse I have kept coming back to lately is Isaiah 26:3- “You will keep in perfect peace all who trust in you, all whose thoughts are fixed on you.”  If we reflect on God, that is the way to peace.

And as we reflect on him, we are empowered to reflect his character to those around us.  “All of us who have had that veil removed can see and reflect the glory of the Lord.  And the Lord- who is Spirit- makes us more and more like him as we are changed into his glorious image.”  (2 Corinthians 3:18)

We never really find out how much Mary understood as she reflected on the events of that first Christmas, but one of my favourite Christmas songs is one which reflects on that question: Mary, did you know?

 

10 thoughts on “Reflect

  1. Hi there! Hopping on from the link-up at Five Minute Friday! You know, one of my favorite details in the story of Mary is the one you pointed out. “Mary pondered all of these things.” I love that. I think that being slow to speak can be a sign of great wisdom. Words are powerful and should be handled carefully. Scripture says that. The power of life and death found in the words we speak! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Carly,
    there is so much depth in your post! I love the scriptures you tie into this. And that passage of Isaiah is on my refrigerator. I think on it often. Though, my mind is not “stayed” on Him as often as I wish. 🙂
    Thank you for the delightful Pentatonix. They have some beautiful versions of Christmas songs. Their version of Little Drummer Boy was my first taste of their harmonies.
    I’m so glad for your visit, too. I sometimes have to take time to reflect on the prompt, and other times burst right into a typing frenzy.
    Hoping I’ll get to see you in person this side of heaven! You are a delight and a treasure.
    Love,
    Tammy
    (#7 this week)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Tammy. My mind is not as fixed on God as I would like it to be either. I think that’s why I keep coming back to that verse- I need the reminder.
      I will need to listen to the Pentatonix version of Little Drummer Boy. I haven’t heard that one yet.
      Thank you for your encouragement. I would love to meet you in person one day too.

      Like

  3. Absolutely love the Pentatonix version of “Mary Did You Know”. Beautiful! I love your words about reflection. I am also a thinker and if I am out on the spot, it usually doesn’t turn out well. But on the other hand you make a good point when you caution us to be thinking about what kinds of things we are reflecting on. Thank you for your words!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

