One Word

linking with Five Minute Friday at katemotaung.com – write for five minutes on a given prompt, except today we get to choose our own one-word prompt.  I’ll tell you mine in a minute!

Bungee Jumping (a)

Over the past few months I’ve heard more and more people talking about the idea of choosing a word for the year.  Rather than making a list of New Year resolutions they select a single word that they focus on to guide and direct them through the year.

It’s something I’ve been drawn to consider, and so last night I was praying and asking God if there was a word that should be my focus for 2016.

A word came to mind, not a word I would have expected, but I think it’s from God.  The more I think about it, the more it both excites me and terrifies me.

The word is “surrender” and since it’s the word that is in my mind just now I’ll take it as the prompt.

I looked up some definitions:

  • “an agreement to stop fighting, hiding, resisting, etc., because you know that you will not win or succeed”
  • “the action of yielding one’s person or giving up the possession of something especially into the power of another”
  • “a giving up after a struggle to retain or resist”

I know there is resistance; I know there are things I’m clinging onto- areas where I’m holding onto control, that I’m scared to completely hand over to God, and I know that I need to surrender and fully trust him.

I was challenged about it again this morning and I felt frustrated with myself- God has proved himself absolutely faithful, I have seen that so many times in my life- why do I still struggle to trust him?

At least I trust him enough to be honest with him about it and, as I did, he gently reassured me that if this is a word for the year he’s not expecting me to have it sorted in one day.

I found a quote from Elisabeth Elliot which encourages me: “One does not surrender a life in an instant. That which is lifelong can only be surrendered in a lifetime.”

So I suppose the first act of surrender is agreeing to focus on this word throughout the coming year and see where it takes me.

linking with Weekend Whispers

Whispersbutton

 

19 thoughts on “One Word

  1. Carly, what a great word for the year. My word “brave” for 2015 has both excited and scared me too but I’ve been blessed by living it out. I’m over in the #15 spot this week.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Carly!!!!!!!
    yay!!!!! The oneword challenge is such a great opportunity to be transformed! I did “trust” my first year, this year was “joy” and next year is “humble”. He began that lesson in September, though. Not an easy word, but trust and surrender? Very close in that you must be willing to lose control, completely giving it up to an unseen, un-tangible God.
    I’ll be excited to read your posts as you journey!
    Lots of love!
    ~Tammy
    P.S. Merry Christmas!
    (#14 this week at FMF)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Tammy, you are one of the people who inspired me by talking about the challenge. I’m excited to see what God will do, but also scared- giving up control is not easy! “Humble” sounds like a difficult one too. I hope you and your family have a great Christmas!

      Like

  3. I love the word you picked, Carly. I so need to surrender my all. I, too, am clinging to far too much. My word this year – follow – actually involves surrender, and I’ve been a bit discouraged, kind of feeling like I failed. But that quote you shared is so encouraging. I’m still tossing around which word to pick for 2016. I love how God showed you which one. Thank you for sharing this. I hope you have a peace-filled Christmas!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Trudy. I think both “follow” and “surrender” are on-going things and, even if we don’t feel we’ve completely achieved them, even a bit of progress is good. Hope you have a lovely Christmas!

      Like

  4. You chose a word packed with intention. I was moved by your reflection on God being absolutely faithful. I am trying to be cognizant about my trustworthiness towards him. He can blast the wind right from under our sails. Surrender seems so vulnerable. Maybe we will move closer to him this year.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Gabriele. Surrender does seem vulnerable- I think that’s why it scares me-but I have seen his faithfulness, as you know. I know I can trust him- I still just struggle to do it sometimes. Praying that we will both grow closer to him and trust him more over this coming year.

      Like

  5. Thank you for sharing with such transparency your struggle with trusting God and your willingness to obey and to focus on the word surrender. Everything you wrote resonated with me. I loved the quote you shared by Elisabeth Elliot.

    I never thought about focusing on a word for the year. You’ve given me something to ponder. I think I might just pray about it…

    Merry Christmas!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

