525,600 Minutes

linking with Five Minute Friday at katemotaung.com – write for five minutes on a given prompt, which today is “time”

Golden Clock

Often it seems that time moves so fast and there are so many things I’d love to do, if only I had more time.

The truth is, we all have time- lots of time.  We just have to figure out how to use it.  This year alone we have 525, 600 minutes (and no, I didn’t work that out- it’s a song from the musical “Rent” 🙂 )

The song poses an interesting question though: how do we measure a year?  When we look back at the end of this year, what will have been those important moments?  What will be significant and lasting?

“In daylights, in sunsets, in midnights, in cups of coffee,
 In inches, in miles, in laughter, in strife?”

I’m sure this year will be full of those things but I think the song hits the nail on the head when it suggest the best way to measure a year- “How about love?”

I think that is what will be most important when we look back at the end of the year- growing to know God more and love him more, time with people we love, time to listen to others and serve others and show God’s love to them.  Even just a few minutes of our time can make a massive difference to someone else.

I want to use my time well this year and have something worthwhile to look back on at the end of the year.

And, did you know, you can do Five Minute Friday for the whole year in just 260 minutes (unless you run a little bit over like I usually do)?

That’s got to be time well spent.

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “525,600 Minutes

  1. Soooo, I didn’t realize it was Friday. 😀 Lovely thoughts. Definitely hope I use my time to get to know God and His love, and to love others. 🙂 And, yes, just a bit of our time can make such a huge difference. You always make a difference to me just by stopping by my blog and leaving a note. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love this song!!!!! Great reminder for us to just stop and reset our priorities and truly think about what matters to us. Thank you for your post!! Made my day:) Now I’ll be singing this song the rest of the day.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi, Carly, agreed, FMF is time well spent. I took a month off and wondered, should I keep doing this? But there is something innately creative and wonderful about the 5 minute challenge and the community. I’m so glad you write with us. Happy New Year! Your friend in #70 at FMF, Christina @CreativeandFree.com

    P.S. Scotland = heaven, in my humble opinion.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Happy New Year, Christina, and thanks for visiting. I’ve done FMF every week since August I think and have loved being part of the community, as well as the fact that it makes me write even when I’m not sure I have something to say. I’m glad you have decided to take part again. I will be over to read your post.
      P.S. Scotland is great but I have to be honest- I’m hoping heaven will be a little less cold and wet. 🙂

      Like

  4. Carly,
    what a great creative post! My choir sang that song in high school. 🙂 And I loved your summary of the minutes of FMF within your post.

    I resonated with “Even just a few minutes of our time can make a massive difference to someone else.”
    So true! Thank you for making time for me. I am so thankful to have met you through FMF.
    Love,
    Tammy
    (#63, right behind you)
    @tammysincerity

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Carly, what a unique take on this FMF word. I loved what you shared about measuring a year. I’m so literal I think in time terms. I love the idea of measuring a year in how well I loved, the memories made, the opportunities spent being Jesus with skin on.

    I loved where you took this. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

