Being Present Is Enough

linking with Five Minute Friday at katemotaung.com – write for five minutes on a given prompt, which today is “present”

person-802075_640

When I was a child I went to a church midweek club, and every year, before finishing up for the summer, we had an evening where family and friends could come and see some of the things we had been doing.  We would perform our songs and dances and dramas, and then at the end of the evening was the best part of all: the prizegiving.

I was always excited because I knew I was going to get a prize.

Not because I was good at anything they gave prizes for.  I really wasn’t.

But because everyone who had been there a certain number of times got a prize for attendance.  You received a reward just for being present.

Looking back, I like that idea- that it wasn’t all about achievement or excellence, but that just being there, just showing up was enough.

Faithfulness, commitment and loyalty aren’t always valued highly today.  They’re not seen as exciting or glamorous, they don’t attract lots of attention or make headline news, but this taught me that they are important.

They may not lead to fame or instant success, but over time there is a reward.  I have seen this in my work with young people.  It takes time to build trust and build connection, but the result is amazing opportunities to encourage and influence and speak truth.

I have seen it in my relationship with God.  When I take time each day to spend with him, being present, it doesn’t mean I have amazing revelations from God every time, but somehow I am closer to him, more able to discern his will and more able to live it out.  I notice a difference when I have not made the time to be present.

And knowing the value of being present encourages me to keep on doing that, even when it is hard and there seems to be no reward.  When I talk with a friend who has mental health difficulties and I have no solutions and see no improvement, all I can do is keep praying for her and keep being there, and hope that in the end it will count for something.

“So let’s not get tired of doing what is good.  At just the right time we will reap a harvest of blessing if we don’t give up.”  (Galatians 6:9)

20 thoughts on “Being Present Is Enough

  1. Excellent point, Carly. Being faithful and committed gets boring sometimes and seems mundane. It’s hard to keep going at times when we fall into this routine stuff. You have pointed out though that we will eventually reap a reward for doing what is right. Keep on, keeping on!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Gabriele. Glad to be your neighbour today! It can be hard especially when there is no obvious result, but it does make an impact over time. I will be over to read your post soon.

      Like

  2. Visiting you back. 🙂 I love this post. So well written and a great reminder to be present, not just in the lives of those around us, but present with God. That’s the part I struggle with most I think. And yet that part of being present is the most important! So, I’m glad for your reminder, a bit of a kick in the pants to get where I need to be. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Well written and a good point – being present is important. I’m also reminded that we can be present in body, and still not present in our soul and spirit. God deserves our full attentiveness during the time we’ve set aside to spend with Him.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh so true…we are so much about the instant gratification now as opposed to the long haul. A wonderful reminder today to be present, both with those whom God puts in our path, and with God himself. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Your prayers do count for something! I think in some ways churches etc have lost that art of just showing up. Perhaps we need to reinstate perfect attendance awards again. Loved your post. I’m behind you this week in the #60 parking spot.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Carly,
    I could not agree with you more. I’ve been doing tests and grades for the last three days (end of semester), and being present is such an intentional thing. It’s a challenge, though. And perhaps, I may be avoiding this post-writing this week because I don’t feel that I’m very good at being present, presently. 😉
    But, I might still post. Perhaps others need to hear it too.
    So grateful for you and your friendship!
    Love,
    Tammy

    Liked by 1 person

      1. As someone with depression and PTSD, I think just your intentional presence is a comfort. Most people don’t want to be around folks with “issues” very long so long-term friendships are rare for people like us. We appreciate those who try. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thanks. My friend has had depression, anxiety and various eating disorders on and off for about 12 years now, so I guess she’s stuck with me!
        It’s true though that a lot of other friends have drifted away because they find it all too difficult.
        One way God has definitely used my experiences for good is in developing compassion for people who struggle and seeing the value of being there for them.

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Faithfulness, commitment and loyalty are splendid qualities which are not given the credit and appreciation they deserve these days. When you have these and use them sometimes you feel bestranged from others all around you.
    Beautiful post

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

