Where is your focus?

linking with Five Minute Friday at katemotaung.com – write for five minutes on a given prompt, which today is “focus”

The Road

I remember learning to drive.  Everything seemed overwhelming- so many things to think about at one time, so many hazards to watch out for: bends in the road, pedestrians, traffic lights, other cars…

I wasn’t used to being in control of something moving so fast.  Actually I didn’t even feel in control.  I drove slowly, looking at the road just in front of me, watching the car ahead, clinging to the steering wheel, trying desperately to stay in the right lane.

Then my driving instructor gave me some advice- “Focus as far ahead as possible down the road in the direction you want to go.”

As soon as I attempted this, it began to fall into place.  Suddenly I felt I knew where I was going.  I would automatically steer in the right direction and I began to build up speed without feeling so afraid.

Where you focus is so important- it determines the direction you go in and how you get there.

In life there are times when it feels overwhelming.  There are too many things to think about, too many hazards, too many bends in the road.  It’s the same scary feeling of being out of control.

But again the answer is focus: focus as far ahead as possible down the road in the direction you want to go.  Keep your eyes on Jesus.

“Let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith.”  (Hebrews 12:1-2)

There is a choice about where to focus:

  • Do I focus on my weakness or on his strength?
  • Do I focus on my sin or on his grace?
  • Do I focus on my problems or on his power and presence?
  • Do I focus on the uncertainties of life or on the certainty of his faithfulness?

Sometimes it is hard to rise above it all and keep looking ahead, but I know where my focus has to be for me to travel in the right direction.

“Turn your eyes upon Jesus,
  Look full in His wonderful face,
  And the things of earth will grow strangely dim,
  In the light of His glory and grace.”  (Helen H. Lemmel)

12 thoughts on “Where is your focus?

  1. Hi Carly 🙂

    I love this. I can’t drive because of a disability but I often feel overwhelmed by all the things in life I can’t, should be doing. It really overwhelms my soul to the point I don’t know Jesus is there anymore. I’m constantly overwhelmed by the world and my issues or those around me, it’s so ugh.

    I love: do I focus on my problems or on his power or his presence? His presence..I’m stuck on that now.

    Thank you for sharing this. Also, I love the verse where your blog comes from. ❤️ Visiting from fmf.

    Like

    1. Thanks for visiting, Julia. I know, it can be really hard to keep focused on Jesus when life seems overwhelming. And not always easy to sense his presence, but he is always there even when it doesn’t feel like it. Praying that you know him with you today in the midst of all the problems and distractions and that you find peace in him.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. So true, Carly. It’s hard not to get distracted and discouraged by the troubles around and in us, and the devil tries hard to get us down. May God give us the strength to keep our eyes focused on His strength, grace, power, presence, and faithfulness. Blessings and hugs to you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This post was the perfect things for me to read this afternoon. Focusing as far ahead as I can see, clearly gives me hope. I enjoy the juxtaposition between focus far ahead yet staying in the moment. They seem in conflict, but they aren’t.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you found it helpful. It’s true that sometimes looking too far ahead can be unhelpful and it’s important to enjoy the moment too. I think that if we can focus on Jesus that helps us get the balance and the other things fall into place.

      Like

  4. Hi, Carly, I focus too much on my weakness, for sure. Your questions are convicting and helpful in reflection. Your analogy of your driving teacher saying to focus on the destination reminds me of climbing a mountain years ago and doing the exact opposite—focusing on my feet. But I love how our focus has to be different for unique situations, and no matter what, Christ Himself. Thank you for your words. -Everly grateful, Christina @ Creativeandfree.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

