Never Forget

linking with Five Minute Friday at katemotaung.com – write for five minutes on a given prompt, which today is “forget”

Stones

Why is it so easy to forget?

I hope it’s not just me.  I start the day reading the Bible and God seems close, I feel his presence as I join with others in worship, I sit in silence and hear his gentle whisper, I see his power at work, answering prayer and changing circumstances.

But then life takes over.  And in the busyness and the stresses and the challenges it is easy to forget.  To forget that God is walking with me, to forget that he has a plan, to forget to turn to him instead of trying to handle life by myself.

The people of Israel were the same.  They had seen God’s amazing power saving them from slavery in Egypt and opening a path through the Red Sea but before long they were complaining of hunger and making a golden calf to worship.

When they finally reached the Promised Land, Moses warned the people that it was important not to forget:

“For when you have become full and prosperous and have built fine homes to live in, and when your flocks and herds have become very large and your silver and gold have multiplied along with everything else, be careful!  Do not become proud at that time and forget the Lord your God, who rescued you from slavery in the land of Egypt.”  (Deuteronomy 8:12-14)

As they crossed over the River Jordan into the land, Joshua got them to bring stones from the river to build a memorial so that they would not forget, and so that they would not forget to tell the next generation about what God has done.

I also need these reminders.  Two things that have helped me recently are:

  • beginning a gratitude book- taking time each day to note down a few blessings and to thank God for them.
  • memorising Bible verses- I have chosen some verses that fit with my word for the year and as well as having them in my mind it has helped the message to sink deeper into my heart and I have found the verses coming into my mind throughout the day.

What about you?  What helps you to make sure you don’t forget what God has done?

 

23 thoughts on “Never Forget

  1. “Why is it so easy to forget?”
    Indeed!
    I like your idea for a gratitude book. I used to do something like that and maybe will start that again. IF I don’t forget!!!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I believe we came from a pre-existent place where we were with God and could not forget him. When we came to earth our memory of that place was veiled. This is one of the tests of mortality. Will we find Him, except Him, and then not forget Him? It is meant to be a practice. Just my thoughts…..

    Like

    1. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Gabriele. I think our beliefs are a bit different here (which is fine). I don’t believe in a pre-existence before conception, but I totally agree that coming to know God and not forgetting him are important. Hope you have a good weekend.

      Like

  3. The gratitude journal is a great idea. I started the Sun blessings series on my blog to help me keep track of my blessings. It is so easy for us to forget. But God is indeed always there.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you for such wonderful insights. I often say that the Lord doesn’t want us to be shaken or shocked, but that He does have “pleasant surprises” for us along the way. Last year, I kept a journal(s) of all the pleasant surprises I received. It truly helped me to realize that the Lord means us “good” and not evil all the days of our lives. Joy!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thank you for this inspiration, Carly. I am amazed how God never forgets His love and grace in spite of our forgetfulness. God showed such endless mercy to a forgetful Israel and to us, too. I have been trying in my heart to focus on blessings instead of problems.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Trudy. Yes, I am grateful that God doesn’t forget his love towards us, even when we do.
      I think especially when things are hard it’s important to remember the blessings- not always easy though!

      Like

  6. The busyness and the stressfulness. Oh Carly, you’re a heart sister. 😀 That was the blessing of last week’s illness. I was stopped. Maybe it was only for a day, but I am listening again. I am aware again. I’d gotten a little too routined and too numbed to the ordinary to see the extraordinary within it.
    Loved your post!
    (as usual)
    Love,
    Tammy
    (#3 this week)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Being ill is not pleasant but sometimes we need to be forced to stop and take a break. I’m glad you see good that has come from it and I’m glad you’re feeling better. Hope you have a good week!

      Like

  7. Hi Carly! I used to think that memorizing Scripture wouldn’t be all that helpful, but I do think now that it helps me to not forget God’s mercies. They are truly renewed every day, but I can always become better at realizing that.

    I think it’s a life-long work in progress…at least I hope so!
    Blessings,
    Ceil

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I think it is an on-going thing. No matter how much we know of God there is always so much more to discover. It’s so important to find ways to remind ourselves of his mercies every day.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I tend to forget daily that God is in control of my life, and His purposes will be fulfilled. I sometimes wonder why He doesn’t just get fed up with my attitudes and throw me to the wolves. I am so glad for His grace and mercy.

    Lynette
    ~#89 on linkup

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

