It’s Not News To God!

linking with Five Minute Friday at katemotaung.com – write for five minutes on a given prompt, which today is “news”

worried-girl-413690_640

Waiting for news is one of the things I hate the most.  This week I’ve been waiting for news about my car which broke down last week, and that has been bad enough.  Especially when they finally had news and said someone would call me back, only to make me wait another two hours…

Waiting for news of medical results for myself or someone close to me, or the outcome of an exam or job interview or important conversation, is even worse.

According to an article I read, there are three personality factors which are responsible for the fact that I hate waiting for news: a low tolerance for uncertainty, a high degree of need for closure, and a high level of “defensive pessimism”.  This is when you imagine the worst possible outcome in order to prepare yourself to deal with it, and I am an expert at this.  I have a vivid imagination and in any situation I can come up with a huge variety of possible disaster scenarios, which I do realise is a huge waste of time and energy and only leads to anxiety.

Lately though I’ve been learning to give it to God and to focus on the fact that whatever the outcome of a situation, it is not news to God.  He knows and he has it covered.

He sees the big picture of the world: “From one man he made all the nations, that they should inhabit the whole earth; and he marked out their appointed times in history and the boundaries of their lands.”  (Acts 17:26)

He sees our little individual pictures: “You saw me before I was born. Every day of my life was recorded in your book. Every moment was laid out before a single day had passed.”  (Psalm 139:16)

Whatever surprises we may face, whatever good or bad news we might receive, none of it is news to him, so all the worrying and preparing for the worst is pointless.  Far better to look to God who already knows and who already has a plan to deal with it, whatever news we receive, to God who is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble.”  (Psalm 46:1)

Far better to be like the godly people described in Psalm 112:7: “They do not fear bad news; they confidently trust the Lord to care for them.”

 

20 thoughts on “It’s Not News To God!

  1. I used to imagine all the terrible scenarios. Now I don’t. Not sure which is worse. The worrying beforehand I had when I was more pessimistic, or the disappointment I have now that I’m not. 😀 Just trying to keep my eyes on Jesus. I hope the news with your car is not costly.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree- keeping our eyes on Jesus is the best thing we can do and he will help us whatever way things work out.
      I finally got the news about my car and it wasn’t expensive. They’re still not sure exactly what was happening with it, but it seems to be ok for now. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Your post reminded me of s quote from Mark Twain, a famous American frontier author, “I’m an old man and I have known a great many troubles, but most of them never happened”
    I can see your word surrender working in your life.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s funny- I actually thought of that quote but I couldn’t quite remember it and didn’t know who said it. Thanks for sharing that. I think I am slowly learning to be better at surrender.

      Like

  3. THIS: “Lately though I’ve been learning to give it to God and to focus on the fact that whatever the outcome of a situation, it is not news to God. He knows and he has it covered.” So true…God indeed has it covered. I’m over in the lucky #13 spot this week.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Carly,
    yes, yes, and yes!! I love the “defensive pessimism”. That is what I keep hearing when people are speaking about the voting results. Defensive pessimism. Yuck.
    😀 So glad for your positive answer to that human response. Way to bring every Word of God into the light and beam it as a hope projection!
    Love you!!
    Love,
    Tammy
    (#5 this week at FMF)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Tammy. Defensive pessimism is yuck. Much better to focus on God and find hope in him, though it’s not always easy to get that focus. ❤

      Like

  5. “Whatever surprises we may face, whatever good or bad news we might receive, none of it is news to him, so all the worrying and preparing for the worst is pointless. Far better to look to God who already knows and who already has a plan to deal with it, whatever news we receive, to God who is “our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble.” (Psalm 46:1)” Thank you, Carly. Such an encouraging post. Blessings.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Your push toward remembering God as a refuge and strength is so key in the midst of waiting. The mind is where the imagination can go crazy.

    The problem with our imagination is that we rarely imagine God’s presence in our imagined tragic future.

    If I could imagine God’s presence in my waiting and worrying self, I would feel peace. I know beyond a doubt that God has all the resource and all the love to take me through the biggest of storms. Yet, it is coming to him and focusing on him and his continual presence is what slips past me ever so easily.

    And my propensity to stray from being under his wing, a worry-free place, is no news to God. I rest in his patience with me as I learn and grow in him.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s a good point that when we imagine what could go wrong in the future we rarely remember to imagine God with us. I also find it hard to focus on God when my imagination runs away with me but there’s so much peace when we do.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

