Holding Nothing Back

This is part 8 of a study looking at the book “Anything” by Jennie Allen.  Click  here for an index of all the posts in this series plus other posts on the topic of Surrender.

butterflies-843298_640

After 2 months of reading and studying, I come this week to the last section of the book.  In this section, Jennie Allen talks about the changes there have been in her life since praying and saying she would do “Anything” for God.  For her, this has involved adopting a child from Rwanda and stepping out to use her gifts of writing and teaching.  Her life has been completely changed and she freely admits it has been incredibly difficult, but also totally worth it to see God at work and to be part of what he is doing.

This section of the book talks about pouring ourselves out for God- that we need to give ourselves for him and for others, not living for ourselves, not holding back.  “There are lots of people he cares about who need parts of our lives.”

As I think back over the last 8 weeks, I think a lot has changed for me through reading this book.   I remember how terrified I felt about the idea of surrendering everything to God and what it was going to involve.  The book has helped me to confront some of the barriers to surrendering to God: fear and approval of others being the two key ones for me.  It has helped me to weigh up the cost of surrendering to God and some of the difficulties that come with it, but, more importantly, it has encouraged me that it is worth it- that it is what we were created for and the way to true life and purpose comes with surrender.

“I don’t want to get to heaven and see what I could have been a part of but missed because I was numb or selfish or scared.”

When I began reading this book, I had no idea where it was going to lead me.  I certainly didn’t expect that it would mean stepping out to be involved in planting a new church.  That has already involved surrender and I know that it will continue to do so and that it won’t always be easy, but I am definitely more excited than scared about what lies ahead.

The challenge will be to keep surrendering to God day by day.  As Jennie Allen reminds us, surrender is not always about taking big radical steps; it’s in obedience in the small things every day.  God doesn’t want a dramatic sacrifice- he wants our hearts.

And he is more than worth it.

“Anything is nothing… in light of forever.  In light of Him.”

6 thoughts on “Holding Nothing Back

  1. “Surrender is not always about taking big radical steps; it’s in obedience in the small things every day. God doesn’t want a dramatic sacrifice- he wants our hearts.” I love this, Carly. He wants our hearts. Amen. Sometimes surrender may even mean to be still and wait or to accept where we’re at right now. Blessings and hugs to you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Carly! I think the greatest challenge of our lives is truly trusting that what God wants is the best thing, no matter how crazy or impossible it sounds to us. What a life-changing and inspiring book! And I can see how it has inspired you too. Who knows where God will lead you? I hope you’ll climb aboard the train and go where He leads. You’ve already helped to plant a church!!
    Blessings,
    Ceil

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Ceil. It is a big challenge to really trust in God’s plan but the book has definitely inspired me to do that, and to step out in faith to do whatever he asks. The church plant is not beginning properly for about another month, but I have spoken with people about it and committed to be a part of it so it will be exciting to see how it works out!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Sometimes as I have read your series about this book I have reacted with anxiety. Do I need to do this more? Your words have encouraged me and pushed me to reconsider my own willingness. Thank-you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

