Truth Will Triumph

seagull-981820_640

I can’t say I wasn’t warned.

If you’ve been following my blog you’ll know that I have been greatly impacted by 2 books over the past couple of months.   Through reading “Anything” by Jennie Allen I’ve learned a lot about surrendering to God and stepping out in obedience to him, and through reading “Fervent” by Priscilla Shirer I’ve learned a lot about the strategies the enemy has against us as believers, and how to fight back through prayer.

I haven’t just been learning these things theoretically- I’ve actually been putting them into practice and I’ve seen a lot of changes.

So it makes sense that the enemy would not be happy.  When God is working in our lives and changing us, that is the very moment the enemy wants to step in and undo that good work by making us doubt God, doubt ourselves and doubt that God can really change things.

As I say, I was warned.  But I was not prepared for the constant barrage of negativity that has been filling my mind this week.  Old insecurities that I thought were dealt with have resurfaced once again, small doubts and fears have been magnified, and the lies have just been screaming so loudly and relentlessly.

It’s easy to get tricked into believing them again, and I have been there this week.  But when I take a step back, I see them for what they are.  And when I quiet myself and bring them to God, I hear something quite different and I know the only way to deal with the lies is to fight back with truth.

I wrote what follows mainly for myself, to deal with the lies that have been invading my mind, but I know I can’t be the only one struggling with this so I pray that these truths will speak to your heart too.

The lie says: “You’ll never be loved.”

God says: “I have loved you, my people, with an everlasting love.  With unfailing love I have drawn you to myself.”
What’s more, “God showed his great love for us by sending Christ to die for us” and “we know how dearly God loves us, because he has given us the Holy Spirit to fill our hearts with his love.”
(Jeremiah 31:3, Romans 5:8, Romans 5:5)

The lie says, “You’ll never belong.”

God says:  I have chosen you and will not throw you away.”  He says that each of us matter and each of us has a part to play: “All of you together are Christ’s body, and each of you is a part of it.” “God has put each part just where he wants it.”
(Isaiah 41:9, 1 Corinthians 12:27, 1 Corinthians 12:18)

The lie says, “You’re worthless.”

Truth says:  Even before he made the world, God loved us and chose us in Christ to be holy and without fault in his eyes.  God decided in advance to adopt us into his own family by bringing us to himself through Jesus Christ. This is what he wanted to do, and it gave him great pleasure… He is so rich in kindness and grace that he purchased our freedom with the blood of his Son.”
That is how much we are worth to him!
(Ephesians 1:4-5,7)

The lie says, “Don’t get your hopes up that things will ever change.”

Truth says:  “Nothing is impossible with God” because God “is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think” and when we experience his love we “will be made complete with all the fullness of life and power that comes from God.”
(Luke 1:37, Ephesians 3:20, Ephesians 3:19)

The lie says, “You’re marked by the past.”

Truth says:  “Anyone who belongs to Christ has become a new person. The old life is gone; a new life has begun!”
(2 Corinthians 5:17)

The lie says, “You’ll never be free of fear and anxiety.”

Truth says:  “Perfect love expels all fear.”  It instructs us: “Give all your worries and cares to God, for he cares about you,” and it tells us that when we do, we “will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.”  
(1 John 4:18, 1 Peter 5:7, Philippians 4:7)

The lie says, “What’s the point?  Just give up.”

Truth says:  “My dear brothers and sisters, be strong and immovable. Always work enthusiastically for the Lord, for you know that nothing you do for the Lord is ever useless,” and even when things are hard, it encourages us that in the light of eternity, “our present troubles are small and won’t last very long. Yet they produce for us a glory that vastly outweighs them and will last forever!” 
(1 Corinthians 15:58, 2 Corinthians 4:17)

The lie says, “You’re too weak and broken.”

God says:  “My grace is all you need. My power works best in weakness.”  Paul writes that, “God chose things the world considers foolish in order to shame those who think they are wise. And he chose things that are powerless to shame those who are powerful.”  
(2 Corinthians 12:9, 1 Corinthians 1:27)

The lie says, “You have nothing to offer.”

Truth says:  “God has given each of you a gift from his great variety of spiritual gifts,” and reminds us that “we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago.”  
(1 Peter 4:10, Ephesians 2:10)

As the Casting Crowns song below reminds us it’s a choice, and I have made mine, but I have to continue to choose it each day and each moment:
“Out of all the voices calling out to me, I will choose to listen and believe the voice of truth.”

            Holly Barrett

WeekendWhispersLinkUpButton_2016

24 thoughts on “Truth Will Triumph

    1. Thanks, Trudy. The lies can seem so true sometimes but it does help when we recognise what’s happening and can fight against them.So important to keep reminding ourselves of the truth.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I love your post, the truth that has compelled you and the God of truth who ensures it! I love the Casting Crowns song, too. I have one fav verse to add to your list: “For freedom Christ has set us free; stand firm therefore, and do not submit again to a yoke of slavery.” Truth will triumph!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What powerful and poignant verses Carly! I want to thank you for these wonderful TRUTHS that you have shared here. I need to memorize these verses and keep them in my heart as I struggle to defend against the enemy. Thank you again for sharing what God has laid on your heart. Have a blessed week!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Horace. Yes, I need to memorise some of these too. It is so important to be able to remind ourselves of the truth when we’re faced with the lies.

      Like

  3. I can so relate, Carly. Those lies take over my easily swayed head far too often. Thank you for these important truths to fight back with. I’m about to start reading Fervent! It’s been sitting on my shelf for months and some friends and I are finally going to read it together :).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Candace. I wish you didn’t hear those lies too, but it’s good that we can encourage one another to fight back. I hope you enjoy reading Fervent- I found it really helpful.

      Like

  4. I can totally relate, Carly. The lies that have been barraging my heart and mind these last few weeks aren’t exactly the same as those attacking you, but the source is definitely the same. So, too, is the answer you’ve so beautifully spelled out here–God’s truth. I’m with you in making that choice to believe, over and over again! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Lois. Sorry you are being bothered by the lies as well. I’m glad you’re joining me in choosing to believe the truth, and that we can encourage each other to keep doing that.

      Like

  5. Thank you for speaking such beautiful truths today. Every scripture you referenced was the prefect way to combat the lies that the enemy tries to fill our heads with.

    Fervent is one of the books that is on my list to read. Praying I have time to read it soon. Blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh, Carly, I hate the fervent attack on us. I hate the old lies and new lies. I hate the sweaty feeling of shame and disconnectedness which we have cast off, and cast out and yet moves in so easily. Good to you for naming the lies. They can’t hold us if they are paraded in the light of day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hate the lies too, and the fact that we think we’ve got rid of them but they come back. Naming them does help to see them for what they are though and allows us to fight back with the truth.

      Like

  7. You are definitely not alone in dealing with lies and attacks – both old and new. I often wonder why I so easily believe the negative, quicker than I believe the positive! Thank you for sharing these eternal truths! Blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Carrie. I think most of us struggle with these and find it easier to believe the negative at times. At least we can encourage one another to hold on to the truth.

      Like

Leave a Reply

