Our Hope For Wholeness

linking with Five Minute Friday at katemotaung.com – write for five minutes on a given prompt, which today is “whole”

The Broken Heart

When I hear the word “whole” I think “broken.”  In this life, wholeness just seems like an unattainable goal.

I am too broken.

I used to think it was just me, that everyone else had it together, that they were whole and I was somehow different, but I think really we’re all broken- to different degrees and in different ways, but none of us is completely whole.

In a way it comes as a relief to accept that.  It takes the pressure off to be sorted.  It means it’s okay to admit my brokenness and not to feel I have to hide it.

I don’t mean this to undermine the healing that God has done in my life.  When I look back ten years, I was a different person.  God has healed so much and brought great transformation and freedom.  I am certainly closer to wholeness now than I was then, and I want to continue on that journey, but I’m still broken, and, while I don’t always like that, I need to accept it.

We live in a broken world, and as Christians we are not exempt from the consequences of this:  “We believers also groan, even though we have the Holy Spirit within us as a foretaste of future glory, for we long for our bodies to be released from sin and suffering.”  (Romans 8:23)

But what we do have is hope: hope in knowing that Jesus died to deal with the brokenness- that he was broken so that we could be made whole- and a certain hope that one day we will fully experience that- everything will be made new, we will be made whole and we will be with God forever.

“I heard a loud shout from the throne, saying, “Look, God’s home is now among his people!  He will live with them, and they will be his people.  God himself will be with them.  He will wipe every tear from their eyes, and there will be no more death or sorrow or crying or pain.  All these things are gone forever.”  (Revelation 21:3-4)

This gives me hope, even in the midst of the brokenness.

26 thoughts on “Our Hope For Wholeness

  1. Carly it is so true we are all broken, but with Him He is making us whole as we continue to grow in Him and one final day we will be truly whole. Great post.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Carly! If I want to know what it’s truly like to be broken, I can look to Jesus. And if he allows this brokenness, then I know that it’s okay for me to be that way too. I know that I’m called to live the life that Jesus lived, and sometimes being broken is ‘the plan’. I have to learn something, or be something else. If I wasn’t taken apart, I’d never look to another place.

    He will make us whole, and in the right place!
    Blessings,
    Ceil

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Ceil, it is encouraging that Jesus understands our brokenness and that God can work it into his plan for good. I agree, the times when we are conscious of our brokenness are often when we most see our need for Him and turn to Him. Hope you have a lovely weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. What encouragement! I love that people seem to be more open about sharing their broken – it makes me feel less alone. But, also remembering to not dwell there but to bask in that wonderful promise of being made whole. Thanks for these reflections!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for visiting, Annie. Yes, it is so important to know we’re not alone- to share with one another in the struggles and to encourage one another with the hope we have in Christ.

      Like

  4. THIS: “But what we do have is hope: hope in knowing that Jesus died to deal with the brokenness- that he was broken so that we could be made whole- and a certain hope that one day we will fully experience that- everything will be made new, we will be made whole and we will be with God forever.” That will preach. I’m in the 8 spot this week.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Carly,
    oh yes. I too thought of broken when I heard whole. And, why would we need Jesus to heal us if we weren’t broken? 😀
    Your scriptures are so Spirit-filled, as is your entire post!
    Thank you for opening your heart and your life in this week’s offering.
    Truly it is beautiful, as are you.
    Love,
    Tammy
    (#74 on FMF this week)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s true- our brokenness definitely reminds us of our constant need for Jesus. Thank you, Tammy, for your lovely comment- I really appreciate your visit and your encouragement.

      Like

  6. It’s always good to see the progress, yet acknowledge the need for more healing. When you’ve been hurt so deeply, it takes time. Do you think it helps that you are writing it out, sharing with others and thereby helping them?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think writing about it helps, most of the time. I often find it easier to express myself by writing rather than talking. It is good to connect with people who understand and it’s so encouraging if what I say helps someone else or just lets them know they’re not alone. Friday was a bit of a splurge because the FMF prompt got to me for some reason, but I wanted to keep it positive and focus on the hope we have.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Carly,
    Thanks for visiting Growing Through God’s Word. I too feel blessed to have become whole about 15 years ago. I have actually found the last 5 years to have grown the most as I study the Bible and pray. I know He is right here with me – every minute of the day.
    Blessings,
    Janis

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

