Surrendering Self-Protection

knight-1062126_640

As a child I took part in a lot of theatre and I absolutely loved it.  Surprisingly for someone who was generally pretty quiet, I was always a bit of a performer, as long as it involved music.

One thing that was drilled into us time and time again was the importance of staying in character.  When you went out on stage you were not yourself; you were acting a role.  No matter how you were feeling or what had happened that day, you had to leave that aside and act the part.

Since I was mainly involved in pantomime, that generally involved smiling and, over the years, there were times when I felt ill or tired or worried, but for those moments onstage I had to put that aside and smile and do what I had to do.

In the first show I took part in when I was five years old, I got hurt on stage on the opening night when something was accidentally slammed down on my toe.  It is one of my most vivid childhood memories.  I remember the intense pain, but also the knowledge that I couldn’t react.  I had to keep smiling and stay in character.

Fortunately it was right at the end of the song as I was about to go offstage, but I held the pose and held the smile as the audience applauded and, only after I had gone offstage and run along the corridor, into the dressing room, did I begin to cry.

People praised me for my professionalism, but it set a dangerous precedent, because, before long, I began to live my life as if I was onstage.  Incidents where I felt my pain was overlooked or misunderstood persuaded me that it was unimportant and no-one wanted to know, and so I began using the same technique.  Keep smiling, ignore the pain, do what you’re meant to do, and it will all be okay in the end.  On the rare occasions when I tried opening up, the reaction was not helpful, so eventually I just kept on acting.  (I don’t say any of this to criticise my family.  I was always loved and cared for as a child.  There were just some complicated circumstances which weren’t understood by any of us at the time.)

The one saving grace (quite literally) was the fact that I came to know Jesus when I was nine years old and somehow, from the start, I knew it was different with Him.  In Him, I found somewhere I could take the pain, where it was okay to be hurting.

With Him, I could be myself.  With everyone else, I felt I had to act, which generally meant keeping smiling and doing what I was meant to do.  I became pretty good at acting the right role for the right situation, and keeping my real self locked away.

It took a long time for God to chip away at the defensive wall I’d built around myself before I would even begin to let people in, but eventually I did.  It was hard for me to admit weakness and accept help, but at last I was able to talk about the things I’d buried and find acceptance.  It was a long, slow, gradual process, and it’s still on-going because, when I’m under pressure, that defensive wall can still come back up very easily and my true feelings can be hidden behind the smiles and assurances that “I’m fine.”  I become that little girl again, smiling as people applaud, holding the pain deep inside.

I’ve written a lot here about surrender, my word for the year, and I think the next area God wants me to work on is continuing to surrender this self-protection: being quicker to acknowledge when I’m in pain and more ready to let others in.

Although I’ve come a long way on this journey already, there’s still something about it that scares me.  I still have the fear of opening up to feel that people don’t care or don’t understand.  It means vulnerability, but I know it’s for the best.

I think the key to it is trusting in God’s promises, realising that I can look to him for defense and protection, rather than looking to myself.

“The Lord is my rock, my fortress, and my savior; my God is my rock, in whom I find protection.  He is my shield, the power that saves me, and my place of safety.” (Psalm 18:2)

So once again I am laying down the armour of people-pleasing and independence and smiling through the pain, and taking up the armour that God gives- the belt of truth, the breastplate of righteousness, the shoes of the gospel of peace, the shield of faith, the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.

Knowing the truth of who He is, and understanding how He sees us, frees us to be true to ourselves and gives us peace, regardless of people’s reactions.  Accepting that righteousness comes from what Jesus has done, and knowing that we are secure in Him frees us from the burden of having to act a certain way to please other people.  Holding to God’s promises and believing what He says allows Him to defend us and protect us.

It is not always an easy path to take, but I am convinced, and have experienced, that it is the path to greater freedom.

(And since I’ve had this song in my head the whole time I’ve been writing this post, I thought I’d share the joy!)

 

>      purposefulfaith.com        Holly Barrett

22 thoughts on “Surrendering Self-Protection

  1. This reminds me of something I heard a child say as I was surfing TV channels the other night. He said, “If you want to be who you are, you need to tell your true feelings.” So true, as your post also shows. I’m so prone to put on a smiley face and say “I’m fine.” I love this truth – “Knowing the truth of who He is, and understanding how He sees us, frees us to be true to ourselves and gives us peace, regardless of people’s reactions.” Thank you, Carly, for this reminder I need every day. Blessings and hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have been reading through Psalm 119 as a devotional for the last few weeks. One of the commentaries refers to the love of God and His Word taking the place of loving anything else. That having this desire for God above all else is the only way we can move beyond the desire to please others.

    Surrender is such a strong word of faith.

    Blessings!!
    Dawn

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ahhh, Carly. We’ve both used the same armor to protect our hearts. I locked away my emotions for YEARS (and that’s a story told in snippets on my blog). It’s only been in the past couple years, and especially this year, that I’m learning to step out of observer mode and into engaged-with-others mode. It feels risky, but it’s only as we do this that we can truly live a fuller life.

    Thank you for sharing so transparently. Loved this post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Jeanne. I’m sorry you’ve struggled with this too but it also encourages me that you relate to it as this was a hard one to press “publish” on.
      I’m glad you’re also learning to step out of hiding and engage with others. It’s not easy, but it is the way to a fuller life.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Carly, something else you and I have in common. I acted in high school and college. I totally understand where you are coming from with becoming the character. And yes, our lives are not to be about acting. We are to be fully who God created us to be. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh wow. How well you describe this!

    I have to say, me too. I’m really good at being “on stage”- even to friends and family. Really good. I even laugh off painful things that they noticed, making everything seem a lot lighter than it is. I like making people happy– sometimes at the expense of truth.

    Thank you for this call, again, to let down my guard. May God help chip away my defenses as He did yours! =)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Ally, it’s sad how good we can get at acting the part with years of practice! I totally relate to the desire to make people happy, even at the expense of truth.
      It’s not easy to let down our guard. It took years for me and I still struggle with it at times.
      Praying that you will know security in God and in who he made you to be and that he’ll help you gradually take down the guard with others too.

      Like

  6. There is such freedom in realizing that God accepts us as we are, without pretense. I think when we can come to Him honestly and openly, we grow more comfortable with doing the same with others. He leads us to those safe places – those people of grace – who love us just as we are. It’s a beautiful thing to be able to let down those walls. Great encouragement here, Carly.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Wow! Lay down my armor and feel. It gives me the shakes just saying those beautiful words. It most definitely is part of the surrender. In order to do that he has to make a Holy Place inside of us, a refuge from the vulnerability. Thank-you for keeping the conversation going.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Carly, somehow I missed this post too the first time around! I love it…and can identify with so much of what you talked about! The photo is great. I would never have thought of pairing that song with this post, but it works perfectly doesn’t it? 😍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Martha. It’s not a song I’d have intentionally chosen to go with the post but somehow it was stuck in my head the whole time I was writing so I just thought I’d include it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

