Pass It On

linking with Five Minute Friday at katemotaung.com – write for five minutes on a given prompt, which today is “pass”

sparkler-677774_640

Sometimes I’m tempted to pass on things.  I like to be in control, and I like to know how something will turn out before I agree.  When I’m presented with an opportunity, I see all the detail and it becomes overwhelming.  So many possibilities but so many potential pitfalls, so many details that have to be sorted and so many questions that I want answered- preferably now.

I need to take a step back and look at the bigger picture, and, as I do, I realise that sometimes I’m in danger of passing up the best opportunities if I get caught up in the detail and controlling the outcome.

There are times when you just have to agree, without knowing what will happen, and when God calls is one of those times.

In the Bible, Jesus called people to follow him and they left everything and went- to join him in his work, and in passing on the good news to others.

That is our call too- to pass on what we know of God and to share stories of what he has done for us.  It could be to family and friends, to individuals or to large groups, in person or online, through words or through action- displaying God’s love in practical ways.

We can’t always know how it will turn out if we dare to speak up and we can’t always be in control, but it’s a privilege to be part of his work and it’s an opportunity we definitely can’t afford to pass up.

“We will not hide these truths from our children; we will tell the next generation about the glorious deeds of the Lord, about his power and his mighty wonders.”  (Psalm 78:4)

20 thoughts on “Pass It On

  1. So much THIS: “I need to take a step back and look at the bigger picture, and, as I do, I realise that sometimes I’m in danger of passing up the best opportunities if I get caught up in the detail and controlling the outcome.”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think you and I might share the same brain. I, too, get bogged down in the details, but at the same time I find comfort in them. I want to know the plan. I want to able to account for every possibility. That’s why I’m blown away every time I read the story of Abraham; he just picked up and moved without knowing much of anything. May God grant us faith like that!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad it’s not just me. Seeing the detail can be helpful at times but really annoying at other times. I love the story of Abraham- he is a great example of stepping out in faith without knowing what lies ahead.

      Like

  3. Carly, I can so relate to this: “When I’m presented with an opportunity, I see all the detail and it becomes overwhelming.” Fear of failure can hold us back, as can wanting to control outcomes. When I think about how promptly the first disciples responded to Jesus’ call, I’m awed and humbled. Such obedience. Such faith. Such trust. If only we used our eyes of faith and exercised Spirit-led minds instead of hanging back to check all the ‘what ifs’ and allowing human caution to predominate! Life might look a little different, and we might walk a little calmer, resting in God’s grace. Thank you! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Joy. Yes, it is so important to learn to look at things through eyes of faith rather than only seeing things from a human perspective. It definitely leads to greater peace when we can stop trying to control everything or know all the details and just trust God. The disciples’ example of being so willing to drop everything and go is inspiring.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Yes! Beautiful, honest thoughts here. Thank you for sharing! So many of your words resonated with me as well. Always a pleasure to have you linking up with Five Minute Friday! Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi Carly! I can say with certainty that I have perfectionist qualities, and it does mess with my thoughts when thinking about new projects. Will I be able to do it well? Can I do it my way, or are there rules to follow?
    But this is such good advice you give, saying that when it comes to God’s desires, my personal worries or flaws have no place in stopping me. God calls! I have to answer and know that he can be trusted to complete every good work started by me. That’s a recipe for joy!
    Blessings,
    Ceil

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Ceil, I have perfectionist qualities too and it certainly can get in the way of taking on new things. I know that when God calls us to something, he equips us to do it, but it doesn’t mean it will turn out as we expect. It can be hard to let go of control but there definitely is joy to be found in trusting God and stepping out in obedience.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Beautiful post, Carly. This especially speaks to me: “There are times when you just have to agree, without knowing what will happen, and when God calls is one of those times.” I’m seeing the fruits of this in self-publishing my book…it’s been a very difficult (because I’ve had to release control and trust when things have seemed impossible), but also humbling and beautiful experience. God sure does work in and through our weaknesses.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Carly,
    oooooh, oooooh, ooooh! We’re twins. Really. Separated at birth, walking equally frustrated lives where we continue to try to control instead of surrendering the throne and crown to God.
    I love your honesty in this post. And trust comes from yielding control. SO scary! 🙂 (Yet rewarding when He doesn’t fail. Over and over. He’s FAITHFUL)
    I’m so excited by your choice of scripture at the end.
    Beautiful!
    Love,
    Tammy
    (#70)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Tammy! Yes, I think we’re pretty similar in a lot of ways. I have been learning a lot about surrender and I’m definitely getting better at doing it, but no matter how much I see God’s faithfulness there’s still a part of me that wants to be in control.
      One day we’ll get it! Hope you have a great week!

      Like

Leave a Reply

