Something Missing

linking with Five Minute Friday at katemotaung.com – write for five minutes on a given prompt, which today is “miss”

love-1333508_640

It was our last night together and I wished it would never end.  It was funny to remember that I had never wanted to go there in the first place, but it was clearly where God had led me and as I looked back over the last year I could see why.

God had worked so much growth and healing in my life, helped me open up to others and led me to some of the best friendships I had ever had.  It hadn’t been easy, but it had been good.

And tomorrow it would end- we would go our separate ways and, while we could stay in touch, I knew it would never be the same.  I was going to miss these people so much and in that moment, I wondered whether it was worth it.

I had been given so much and now it was being taken away.  Wouldn’t it be better, and much less painful, not to know what you’re missing?

But then I realised that just because you don’t know what you’re missing doesn’t mean you’re not missing out.  And it doesn’t mean you don’t know that something is missing.  (Sorry if this is getting too deep and philosophical!)

I never knew any of my grandparents, and when I hear a friend talk about one of their grandparents dying and see their grief, I know that’s something I’ve avoided.  But when I hear people talk about their happy memories of time with their grandparents, I also see that I’ve missed out on something special.

I think joy and grief are far more intertwined than we often realise.  The feeling of missing and longing is because of love and, although it hurts, without it we would be poorer.

The longings also remind us that this world is not our home.  It is broken and imperfect, and while we are here on earth there will always be the feeling that something is missing.

But it points us to the amazing hope we have for the future: to reunions with people we miss, the chance to finally meet people we missed out on ever knowing, and the places in our hearts where we ache and groan finally being restored as the missing pieces are slotted into place.

And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, “Look! God’s dwelling place is now among the people, and he will dwell with them.They will be his people, and God himself will be with them and be their God. ‘He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away.”  He who was seated on the throne said, “I am making everything new!”  (Revelation 21:3-5)

22 thoughts on “Something Missing

  1. Hey, I’m visiting from FMF! Love the verse at the end, reminding us that while we’ll always miss something or someone here on earth, someday we will be complete, worshiping at His throne! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Won’t Eternity be wonderful? We’ll see our beloved Savior and fall at His feet in worship. All the tears and sorrow will be gone. We’ll gather around the banquet table with dear brothers and sisters. How I long for it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Carly, I love that God restores and makes us all things new. I agree I think joy and grief are more linked than we realize. It makes me look at my fave verse psalm 30:5 in a new light. I’m in the 68 spot this week.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You ended with a favorite scripture from Revelations. Not having experienced something, would you still know that you are missing something? Is that FOMO? I don’t have a biological sister but I miss her. I admired my mother’s later years because she had two sisters who helped her through thick and thin. I missed out on the bickering and competitiveness, too. You are right. The missing is because of love and the potential for more.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It gets confusing when you think about it too much! With one of my grandmothers anyway it’s because I’ve heard enough about her to think we would have got on really well, so I feel I’ve missed out on knowing her. But I will see her one day.
      I used to wish I had a sister too but you’re right that we do miss out on the bad side as well as the good.
      I think the best thing is to focus on the blessings and people we do have and hold on to the hope for the future that the verses in Revelation offer.

      Like

  5. Hi Carly! All that we know is only what we know. God knows so much more what we need and how to get us there. He knew you would love your experience with these people, and you really did. He made things new!
    Being open to the newness is the key I think. We can only think and reason so far…
    Who knows where he will send you next?
    Blessings,
    Ceil

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Ceil. It is definitely important to remember that God knows better than we do what we need, and to be open to what he wants to do, even when it is not our plan.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Carly,
    This is beautiful…I just wanted to tell you that I really appreciated your comment on my blog…I don’t know what happened to it, but I wanted to let you know I did not take it down even though it says taken down by a “blog administrator”. I love when people share and comment on my blog and I want you to know you are always welcome. Prayers and blessings going out to you this day!!
    Bev xx

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Carly,
    please accept my apologies for being a week behind on visiting posts. I’ve been helping out a lot at our school where there has been a need, and it’s left me no time to write on the computer. I’m so glad to have read your post tonight though.

    Goodbye is the most awful word in the English language. I truly believe that before the fall, before the curse, that we were meant to always be together. That part of the curse was separation. For Adam and Eve, separation from God’s presence, and for the rest of us-from those we love. However “temporary” the separation, it’s awful.

    Thank you for your beautiful words! I look forward to your contribution this week and hope to come see you much sooner on “grow”!!
    Love,
    Tammy

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Tammy, don’t worry about it. I have weeks like that too when it just passes so quickly and you don’t get to do half the things you planned to do. I appreciate you coming to read now.
      I agree, separation is horrible, but we have a joyful reunion to look forward to, and a beautiful meeting of FMF friends who can’t meet in real life just now because of the miles that separate us.

      Like

Leave a Reply

