Opportunity To Grow

linking with Five Minute Friday at katemotaung.com – write for five minutes on a given prompt, which today is “grow”

water-lily-58461_640

“Dear brothers and sisters, when troubles come your way, consider it an opportunity for great joy.  For you know that when your faith is tested, your endurance has a chance to grow.  So let it grow, for when your endurance is fully developed, you will be perfect and complete, needing nothing.”  (James 1:2-4)

I like the idea of growth- a magnificent tree growing from a tiny seed, colourful flowers emerging from the dark ground, a caterpillar transforming into a beautiful butterfly.  The results are spectacular.

Sometimes I struggle with the reality of growth though, because it does not come easily.  Looking back, the times when I have grown in faith have definitely been the hard times, and I am grateful for how God has used them to work growth in my life.  The growth is completely worth it, but still it is often painful.

This week has been hard- not so much because of circumstances, but emotionally difficult. There are things I have to do this weekend and I just don’t feel I have the strength.  I’d rather just curl up and ignore them and hope they go away, but unfortunately they won’t.

So, the only way to face it is to look at this as an opportunity for growth-  growth in reliance on God and his strength as my weakness magnifies my need for him, growth in faith as I see him work through me, growth in endurance as he empowers me to keep going.

Despite the fact that sometimes I’d prefer a comfortable, easy life, deep down I do want growth, and I know that, in the end, it will be worth it.

FMF friends, I will probably not have the chance to read many of your posts until Sunday, but I look forward to catching up with you then.

16 thoughts on “Opportunity To Grow

  1. Thanks for this post. It’s a good and timely reminder for me. I have been thinking that hindrances and difficulties in some of my life situations have been just obstacles to my spiritual growth, but I know full well that what you say has also been so true for me: ” the times when I have grown in faith have definitely been the hard times.” I also know that God is working in the those hard times in ways we sometimes can’t discern until later. God bless, strengthen, and guide you this weekend in the challenge before you. I’ll be praying for you. I know what a Gethsemane-type battle these things can sometimes be.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Sylvia. I really appreciate your comment, and your prayers. God can definitely use our hard times to work growth. It’s true it’s often hard to see at the time, but it’s encouraging when we see the results later.

      Like

  2. I hear you, Carly. They don’t call them ‘growing pains’ for nothing …

    Whatever, wherever you’re being stretched this weekend, I am cheering you on from the distant sidelines.

    And He is with you …

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Carly, growth can be so very difficult but indeed it is worth it. But sometimes I think we’d all much rather curl up and not experience the growing points. I’m clinging to the promises in that James verse. I’m over in the #4 spot this week.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Carly,
    oh how raw and real you are. And how I love you for it!
    Growing is rarely without struggle. Seeds split in half, and then the bud bursts through the shell and sometimes through layers of rock and dirt before giving God their glory! (And yet we detest the determination of those dandelions in the sidewalk instead of marveling at the way they refuse to let their roar be silenced, don’t we?!)
    Beautiful post, and beautiful your surrender to Jesus. He’s pleased with your obedience. 🙂 #notJonah
    Love,
    Tammy
    (#9 on FMF)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Tammy. Sometimes I struggle to know what to write for the FMF prompts but this one just poured out. Thank you for your prayers and encouragement. I love your thought on the dandelions- there is something beautiful in their determination.
      I can’t say this weekend has been easy but God has definitely been with me, helping me through. Hope you have a great week.

      Like

Leave a Reply

