Stories To Bring You Cheer

linking with Five Minute Friday at katemotaung.com – write for five minutes on a given prompt, which today is “cheer” and also linking with Let Us Grow

tree-frogs-517346_640

One of the parts I love most about my job is having the chance to tell Bible stories to children who have never heard them before.  Apart from the fact that it’s a privilege to be able to let them know something about God, it is also incredibly refreshing to witness their reactions to hearing the stories for the first time.

And sometimes their reactions are just hilarious.  My posts usually tend to be quite serious, but today I’m sharing a few stories that I hope will bring you cheer and make you smile.

I once got to take part in a school assembly, telling the story of David and Goliath.  I had chosen children to be David and Goliath and act out front.  The boy who got to be Goliath was loving it.  He had a plastic helmet and sword and he entered right into his part, parading fiercely up and down in front of the other children, loving the fact that everyone was scared of him.  It was all going well until David got out his sling and stone.  The problem was Goliath didn’t know how the story ended and he was obviously completely unprepared for David’s victory.  As I explained that David threw the stone and it hit Goliath, knocking him to the ground, the boy who was playing Goliath threw his sword down on the ground and stomped off, shouting, “I’m not playing any more!”

Then there was the time I was telling the story of Samson.  A group of children were acting it out and one girl kept talking about phones and having her character making phone calls.  I had no idea why, and every time I tried to go on with the story she started talking about phones again.  Eventually I asked her what she was doing and she replied, “He’s called Samsung!”

Finally, I’ve shared this story before but it is probably my favourite.  I was telling a group of children the story of Elijah and the widow who only had a little bit of flour and oil left for herself and her son.  I explained how Elijah asked the widow to bring him food and promised that God would provide.  Then I asked, “What would you do if you were the widow?  Would you believe what Elijah said?”  This very sweet and innocent looking ten year old answered, “I’d give it a try.  I’m not sure if it would work, but it might… and if not I would just kill Elijah for meat!”

I hope these stories brought you cheer.  If you have your own funny stories of children’s reactions to Bible stories, feel free to share in the comments.

  Let Us Grow

43 thoughts on “Stories To Bring You Cheer

  1. Oh my, that last one lol! Kids’ honesty is refreshing though, isn’t it? We often stomp off in our heads when things don’t go our way, don’t we? But on the outside look the picture perfect of godliness…speaking for myself of course! I’m learning, slowly, to become more childlike in my faith: open, honest and dependent on my Father…Thank you for giving us a laugh and making me reflect. BTW love that you’re my neighbor on FMF today!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love children and teaching them and hearing stories… You definitely brought cheer this morning with the children’s hilarious reactions. Years ago my mom taught 2-3 yr. olds in Sunday School. She was talking about how God can do anything. One curious little boy asked, “Can he stand on his head?” Taken aback my mom just said, “Well, I guess he could if he wanted to.” Blessings to you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Loved these stories. Working at a church, I have some great kids stories too especially during my children’s sermons. They always make me smile. “And a little child shall lead them” I’m in the #7 spot this week.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Very funny😁😂😅I need to meet that kid in person.
    Very worthy read, Carly…a worthwhile and uplifting post.
    God bless you and have a triumphant weekend

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Ifeoma. The funniest thing about that last story was it was completely out of character and not what I would have expected from that girl at all! Hope you have a great weekend too.

      Like

      1. I am still laughing. 😉😂😂😂😂
        I am a Sunday School teacher so I get it.
        Some times I leave the class and wonder if the kids are the teachers instead 😅😇😂
        Blessings to you friend
        From one teacher to another this is a good one

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Trudy. I love kids’ honesty and they often have some very insightful comments as well as funny moments like these. It is very satisfying, especially to have the chance to teach the stories to children who wouldn’t hear them any other way.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Hahahahahahaha! Out of the mouths of babes, right?

    Your words here are really encouraging to me. I teach the pre-k Sunday school class every three months and, I’m not gonna lie, it’s tough. I’m doing it because the Lord wants me to, not because I particularly enjoy that age group. I’ve been stuck on how “un-fun” it is that I’ve been missing out on all the joy. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Carly,
    that was so fun to read! I hope you are doing well. You definitely brought cheer. You often bring cheer to me through your comments. Thank you for being an encourager!
    Love,
    Tammy

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Cheryl. I think as we get familiar with Bible stories they can lose some of their impact. Seeing children respond to them as they hear them for the first time is really refreshing.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Children have an uncanny ability to just be honest. It has something to do with the innocence of children. They have not yet learned to be anything but honest. Great post

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Haha. 🙂 Kids are the best. I have so many things written down from when my kids were little. Sweet, sweet memories. Thanks for sharing the smiles, Carly. ((grace upon grace))

    Liked by 1 person

  9. So funny! I love hearing how kids interpret the stories they hear. My daughter, after being told over and over how Jesus can live in her heart, has decided that Jesus instead lives in her tummy so he can eat the bad guys. ha!

    I’m in spot #52 at FMF 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

