My Safe Haven

linking with Five Minute Friday at katemotaung.com – write for five minutes on a given prompt, which today is “haven”

also linking with #LiveFreeThursday 

cave-828604_640

I need a haven- a place to go where I can be safe.

The battle is too fierce.  The arrows are relentless.

“You’re worthless.”  

“You’re unlovable.”  

“You’re not enough.”  

“You’re a failure.”  

“You’re hopeless.”

They’re pounding me, embedding themselves deep into my heart and mind.  I know they’re lies and I try to fight them off but right now I’m losing strength.  The enemy’s attack is just too strong and I’m tired.

And I know it’s because I committed to fight that the enemy sees me as a threat.  I know the reason I’m his target is because I’m trying to move on, but just knowing that doesn’t give me strength or make me feel it.

I need a haven- a place to get away from it all, somewhere to go where I can be safe.

There’s only one place to run- the place that has always been my haven, my shelter from the storm.

“Have mercy on me, O God, have mercy!  I look to you for protection.  I will hide beneath the shadow of your wings until the danger passes by.”  (Psalm 57:1)

“The Lord is my rock, my fortress and my Saviour; my God is my rock in whom I find protection.  He is my shield, the power that saves me and my place of safety.”  (Psalm 18:2)

And in his arms I will find rest.

also linking with #LiveFreeThursday 

 

19 thoughts on “My Safe Haven

    1. That’s true. We just have to learn to run to God instead of allowing the enemy to distract us. Thanks for visiting, Kelly. Hope you have a great weekend.

      Like

  1. Hugs to you today, Carly. Yes, we have an enemy that tries to thwart our steps…like you, I’m so thankful we are able to take shelter on our rock and under His mighty wings. It is His strength we need to fight…good on you for retreating into your haven and seeking His strength to move forward in.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks, Anna- hugs are appreciated! We definitely need His strength. It’s just too much on our own. I’m so glad we can find shelter in Him.

      Like

  2. Thank you for sharing this beautiful post. How wonderful to hear that others battle the enemy in such God breathed ways. This was my husband’s special verse as he battled cancer… 2Timothy 4:7-8. Now God is my husband… and He whispers it to me often. Bless you for sharing your heart.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Carly,
    wow. I think we have the same enemy. 😉 More importantly, similar veins of attack. Psalm 139 is full of ammunition. And, I was recently reminded that of all the Armor of God listed in Ephesians 6, the only offensive (attacking) weapon is God’s Word.
    We are encouraged to use it to slay our enemy. (And an English fun-it’s the only “offensive” part of the armor of God too. It offends people all the time! ;))
    Love you and so glad you came to visit me this week.
    Your friendship is part of my haven. You encourage me with truth and remind me I am fearfully and wonderfully made.
    Also in Ephesians 2:10 “God made us to do good.” Ephesians 6:10 “Be strong in the Lord and in His mighty POWER.” (emphasis mine)
    Love,
    Tammy
    (#67 this week)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tammy, thank you for your encouragement. I’m glad we can fight together against the enemy and remind one another of the truth. I love the verses you mention- Ephesians 2:10 is one of my favourites and Psalm 139 is always such a comforting reminder. Love you, and thank you for your friendship. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. When Satan is attacking we know we are doing something good. He tries with me some days about my weight, but I’m working on that too with my Savior one day at a time with food and exercise. Great post and reminder of how he works.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

