Do You Want To Get Well?

linking with Five Minute Friday at katemotaung.com – write for five minutes on a given prompt, which today is “want”, also linking with Let Us Grow

woman-918532_640

John 5:1-15

“Do you want to get well?”

It seems like a stupid question. Crowds of people lie around the pool, believing that when the water is stirred it has healing power.  Amidst the crowd of blind, sick and paralysed people waiting there, Jesus approaches one man and asks him this question.

“Do you want to get well?”

Well, obviously. That’s why he’s waiting there. The problem is he’s been ill for 38 years and he has no-one to help him into the water, so it seems impossible… but nothing is impossible with God.

Interestingly the man doesn’t answer the question. But Jesus knows, so he gives an instruction:

“Stand up, pick up your mat and walk.”

The man is asked to take action to show he has faith and to prove that he wants it. And as he does, healing comes!

“Do you want to get well?”

Not a stupid question really. Because if we really want it, we have to be willing to do what it takes, to have faith that it is possible, to believe that Jesus can do it, to put up with objections from people who might not understand.

For me, answering yes to that question meant doing the hardest thing I have ever had to do, the thing that seemed impossible.  It was terrifying and risky and the cost was high, but it was completely worth it and I have no regrets.

But sometimes the healing doesn’t come all at once.  Sometimes it’s a process.  Sometimes we have to stop and consider whether we’re still willing and answer the question all over again:

“Do you want to get well?”

  Let Us Grow

29 thoughts on “Do You Want To Get Well?

  1. We have to ask, “do you want to get well, all over again. That gave me pause. When healing doesn’t come right away it gets harder to say ” I want to be healed.” Waning commitment is so human. But, wanting the right things never really goes away.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is hard to keep saying we want healing when it doesn’t come, or comes gradually and slowly when we’d like it instantly. But I agree, the wanting doesn’t go away even though we might not admit it at times.

      Like

    2. I have to agree with Gabriele here. That line got me too. Do I want to get well? Of course! But it takes so much effort and faith and being ok with how God heals and when. I love you treatment of the word this week. Exquisite.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks, Christina. It’s true- it seems like an obvious answer at first but we have to stop and really consider what it means.

        Like

  2. I so agree with you! Sometimes we forget that the man had to put his want into action (and he saw immediate results), but we forget that that walking surely caused him great pain and other unpleasant side affects that we aren’t told about. No one’s story takes place in a vacuum.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Such wisdom here: the action being required again and again- the action of trusting. No, often healing requires repeated actions. I often think that God allows this to deepen our trust and faith. Thanks for sharing Carly.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Anna. I think often we want healing to be instant and often it does require repeated acts of faith for each step. As you say I think it can definitely draw us closer to God and deepen our trust in Him.

      Like

  4. I faced this struggle when I was prayed for a few weeks ago by the elders of our church. I wasn’t healed immediately, as I had hoped, but I left that meeting with confidence that God was going to heal me, either supernaturally or through surgery, and that I was to leave the choice with Him. Still waiting for the healing, with surgery currently being scheduled.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s a great example of being willing to take the action we’re asked to take, but ultimately trusting God for healing in his way and at his time. Praying for you as you wait to hear about the date for surgery. Hope it gets scheduled soon.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Carly,
    oh I am SOOOOO glad you’re already walking out your healing! Your limbs are stiff from all the sitting (if I parallel to this man’s story), but in your heart, you’re dancing already! 🙂 Your muscles will groan as they adjust to bearing weight again, but they will adapt. And you will be like the Habakkuk 3:19 person. “The Sovereign Lord is my strength;
    he makes my feet like the feet of a deer,
    he enables me to tread on the heights.”
    Love you!!
    Love,
    Tammy
    (#16)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Tammy. I’ve been walking it out for a while but it’s not always as instant as it was for the man in the story. I love the thought that even while our limbs are stiff we can be dancing in our hearts. And that’s a great verse from Habakkuk. Thanks for sharing! xxx

      Like

  6. Hi Carly, a few months ago I had serious stomach cramps…I thought it would go away soon. It got worse. I realised I had not prayed about it. Then one night I knelt by my bed I asked the Lord to heal me! I asked Him to show me what was going on.
    A miracle happened!
    It was gone.
    God healed me.

    I like the question you highlighted.

    But like Apostle Paul who wanted to be heal it the Lord said my Grace is sufficient for you. The Word of God is an awesome mystery…. isn’t it?
    God will heal you by His Mercies. He will glorify Himself in your life.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Ifeoma. Healing is definitely a mystery- sometimes it’s instant, other times gradual, other times we don’t see it at all in this life. Sometimes like you say God is just waiting for us to ask. We just have to do what he asks of us and trust that he knows what he’s doing even when we can’t understand.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. In these few words, you have said so much.
    When God shows us what we need to do in order to be well, we sometimes look away and choose to stay in our mess rather than deal with the hard road to healing.
    Blessings to you on the road.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I’ve been healed by God of two distinct injuries in the past, and it did not happen immediately. I had to continue to press in, to hope, to have faith, so speak life and healing over myself. Yes, we must put our faith into action and not only walk out our healing, but walk into it. Blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Barbie. I think the times when the healing doesn’t come straight away are often the times that make us press in more to God. Blessings to you!

      Like

  9. Yes we want to get well, but we have to be willing to do what needs to get done. We have to do our part. My road to healing has been long and hard, but I have to do the hard stuff. The exercise, the adjusting of my schedule, and eating right. All this is part of the healing but we don’t always WANT to do it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re right, we want the healing but we sometimes don’t want the hard work it will involve. God can heal us but often he asks us to play a part in that too.

      Like

  10. The mat carrier story is one of my faves! My friend Laura called us her mat-carriers when we prayed for her throughout her cancer journey. I’m in the #8 parking spot this week.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. The desire to get well – whether from physical or emotional or mental illness – is so important. But thankfully it’s not about our faith in healing itself, but our faith in God and his sovereign plans, whether those plans involve suffering “for a little while”, or a complete and radical healing. I’m so glad we can trust him, even if the outcome of our prayers is not what we expected or hoped for.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I totally agree. We don’t know how it’s going to turn out in a particular situation so our faith definitely has to be in God, rather than the outcome and we also need to be willing to play our part if he asks us to.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. I just read this passage in scripture a couple of days ago and have been reflecting on it since. I love what you said about how we have to be willing to put up with objections from people who just may not get it. Sometimes I can revert to my people pleasing tendencies and if someone has negative feedback about what I’m stepping out into, I cower back. Such a good reminder that it’s about what God has asked of me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Kylie. I also find it easy to go back to worrying about pleasing people. It’s hard when God asks us to do something that other people don’t like or understand, but pleasing him should always come first.

      Like

Leave a Reply

