Moments of Rest

linking with Five Minute Friday at katemotaung.com
Write for five minutes on a given prompt, which today is “rest”.

in-the-appalachian-mountains (1)

Rest is something that has been in short supply this week.  I’m away with work and the timetable has been demanding.  There has not been much time to switch off and think of other things.

But rest is important.

I see that now.  In the past I’d have pushed myself to keep going, always thinking that I had to achieve to be worth something, pushing towards perfection, feeling it was wrong to stop and rest.

But now I see it is necessary.  God rested after creating the world.  Jesus withdrew for quiet moments to have time alone with God.  I have come to see that God does not always push me to keep going but “he lets me rest in green meadows; he leads me beside peaceful streams.”  (Psalm 23:2)

I have learned to look for the little moments of rest, even in the midst of the busyness.

And I have found them this week- little pockets of time to withdraw and be restored- walking by the sea, listening to worship music, moments to reflect and read and pray, time snatched to write this post.

Physically I’m tired.  I’m looking forward to being home tomorrow, to sleep in my own bed, to having some time to properly switch off.

But even in the tiredness, I’m grateful that in God my soul can find rest.

10 thoughts on “Moments of Rest

  1. ‘little pockets of time to withdraw and be restored’ – love it! Thanks so much for sharing these gems. A great reminder of how to rest when away, which I am at the moment. Visiting from #60 at FMF. Kath

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Linda. I’ve managed to snatch a few moments here and there, and I’m looking forward to a whole day off tomorrow! Blessings to you too!

      Like

  2. Carly,
    oh I’m so glad you’re learning to make rest a priority instead of pushing through and burning out! We all need to learn to rest and be still. Press “pause”.
    Your pictures each week give me a pause. They are beautiful! Thank you for coming and sharing your joy with me.
    Love,
    Tammy
    (#55)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Tammy. It’s taken a while but I’m learning it’s important.
      I’m glad you like the pictures- they’re mostly from Pixabay. I didn’t have time or a good enough internet connection to find a new one this week, but this is one of my favourites. It sums up my image of a “spacious place” which is definitely a place of rest. I hope you find times of rest this week.

      Like

Leave a Reply

