Never Say Never

possible-1060212_640

What is your “never”?

The thing you think will never happen, the thing that you’ll never do- what is it that just seems impossible?

I used to think I’d never be able to stand up and speak in front of people.  The times when I had to do that at school were so excruciatingly embarrassing that I hated every moment and planned never to have to do that ever again.

I used to think I’d never get baptised.  I remember attending a baptism, when I was about 16, and, as I watched, deciding I would never do that.  For a start it would involve standing up and speaking in front of people, but, even leaving that aside, I felt I wasn’t good enough.  This wasn’t for me.

I used to think I would never tell anyone about the secrets of my childhood.  The sense of shame and the fear of being disbelieved or misunderstood held me captive and I couldn’t see any way I was going to break the silence.

All of these things seemed impossible…

…but NOTHING is impossible with God.

So when I had the chance one day to stand up and speak about Jesus, the sense that God was calling me and that he wanted to use me finally overcame the fear, and I stood and I spoke.

And something changed that day.  The impossible became possible.

It didn’t happen all at once, but gradually my confidence grew, until now I will happily stand and speak in front of groups of people, and even enjoy it.  I wonder what my 16 year old self would think if she knew that this “never” was now a regular occurrence.

Nothing is impossible with God.

Having overcome that fear, I finally realised that baptism had nothing to do with being good enough.  In fact it was quite the opposite- it was about acknowledging our weakness and our need for God.  And when it became clear that this was the direction God was leading me in, I stepped up and once again I did the thing I said I’d never do.

Then came the big one.  This was the one I was certain really was a “never”.  This was impossible.

But God had other ideas.  Gradually he chipped away at my resistance until eventually I had to give in, and as the light shone into the darkness and the impossible became possible, I began to experience a freedom greater than I had ever known.

It was like stepping from a dark, cold, lonely prison into a bright, spacious place of joy and life and hope.

So many of our “nevers” are due to fear, but when we experience that perfect love that casts out all fear, suddenly there’s nothing to hold us back.

I’ve quoted this verse already this week but I think it’s relevant again here: “Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think.”  (Ephesians 3:20)

Not just more- infinitely more.  He can take us to places we’d never have imagined if we just keep following.

So, as you consider your “nevers” today, don’t lose sight of the greater truth.

Nothing is impossible with God.

linking with #LiveFreeThursday

LIVEFREETHURSDAY

10 thoughts on “Never Say Never

  1. Dear Carly … you’ve given that ol’ phrase, ‘never say never,’ a crisp new perspective. It’s surprising how many times we say ‘I never …’

    And a blessing how many times God whispers, ‘fear not.’

    Thanks for this thoughtful piece …

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s so true the more we get up and do it, the easier it is. I used to dislike speaking at work and then it got easy, and how about praying out loud. All of it was possible because of Him.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

