Treasures Hidden In Darkness

linking with Five Minute Friday at katemotaung.com
Write for five minutes on a given prompt, which today is “hidden”
also sharing with Grace & Truth

glass-1476909_640

“I will give you treasures hidden in the darkness- secret riches.  I will do this so that you may know that I am the Lord, the God of Israel, the one who calls you by name.”  Isaiah 45:3

When I first discovered these words, they gave me hope.  Coming at a time when I felt trapped in darkness- of facing up to things that had been kept hidden, that I felt could never be spoken aloud, that had been hidden even from myself- they were a flicker of light in the darkness.

There were days when it felt I was being plunged into darkness- that all of a sudden a switch would be flicked inside me and my light, my life, my hope would be extinguished.  It never became full-blown depression- it would last for a few days at a time and gradually the light would be restored- but it would happen with no warning, it was something I couldn’t control and it was becoming more frequent.

This verse encouraged me to seek God in it all.  It gave me hope that there could be a purpose, that God could use it for good, that there were treasures hidden there that could be found, if I was willing to seek.

And there were.  Amazing treasures.  Sometimes they were well hidden and it took a long time to discover them, but there were many treasures waiting to be found, so many lessons I learned from this time of darkness:

  • How much I needed God- that I couldn’t depend on success or achievement or other people or my own abilities but that I needed him.
  • To depend on God’s strength when I felt I had none of my own.
  • To be honest with God- realising that nothing is hidden from him, and that he would accept me even in my mess and brokenness.
  • To trust in his unchanging truth, rather than my roller-coaster of emotions.
  • To open up to others and be honest when things were difficult.
  • Compassion to walk with others through their times of darkness.
  • That no matter how deep the darkness, God’s light is stronger.

The second part of the verse sums it up:  “I will do this so that you may know that I am the Lord, the God of Israel, the one who calls you by name.”  Knowing who God is and knowing how he sees me are the two greatest treasures hidden in the darkness.

Whatever darkness you may be facing, there are treasures to be found.  That doesn’t mean it will be quick or easy, but they are there.  As Selwyn Hughes put it: “God will never allow us to be surrounded by darkness without handling us a pick so that we can dig for treasure.”

   

Grace&Truth-300x300

20 thoughts on “Treasures Hidden In Darkness

  1. This is so beautiful, Carly. I love that Scripture and seeing it shine through your testimony here makes it even more beautiful. I think without the darkness, we can’t truly get to know and trust the Light to be found in our Savior. I’m sorry you have had to walk through such hard, but I’m thankful that God used it to bless and strengthen you. Thank you for your encouragement in sharing your story.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I enjoyed your post too- Isaiah is great! And yes, finding hidden treasure, beyond the wisdom of the world, is amazing, and sometimes I think it’s only in the dark places that we can find it.

      Like

  2. Carly,
    I’m so glad I had you as a neighbor for 5 Minute Friday! Thank you for being real and sharing from a raw, vulnerable place. No doubt others can relate to this in so many ways.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Carly,
    oh this was a true gem! Isn’t it fascinating how much more we recognize light when it is dark? And even the smallest spark is more noticeable when it is completely black and there is no light at all. So that glimmer of hope that rises within you? That voice of truth that says ‘Do not be afraid.’ “I will never leave you, nor forsake you.” can be heard in the silence. For some reason it’s reminding me of the Fantasia cartoon with the church bells.
    Beautiful, raw, real, vulnerable, and praiseworthy. Five words to sum up your post.
    🙂
    Love,
    Tammy
    (#7)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Tammy. So true that we need the dark to make us see our need and look for the light sometimes, and then we realise it was there all along.

      Like

  4. This is a thought provoking post. I had never thought of this in quite that way before, but it makes so much sense. I’ve been in those dark places before as well with anxiety and depression and it is true that there are treasures to be found there that we don’t think about when life is bright and full of light.

    I’m reminded of this poem by Annie Johnson Flint:

    These Shall Find

    The steady hand can never find the deep things of the Lord;
    The undimmed eyes can never see the comfort in His Word;
    The joyous heart can never know the healing of His love;
    The learned mind can never grasp the wisdom from above.

    But, oh, the trembling hand clasps His and loses all its fear;
    The weeping eyes can search His Word and read His promise clear;
    The broken heart rests in His love until its faith prevails;
    The childlike mind can reach the source where wisdom never fails.

    Paul most boldly put it, Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ’s sake: for when I am weak, then am I strong. 2 Corinthians 12:10

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for sharing this beautiful poem, Mary. Times of darkness are definitely not easy but I think it is often in those times that we discover God in a new way. Thanks for visiting.

      Like

Leave a Reply

