To You I Lift Up My Soul

linking with Five Minute Friday at katemotaung.com
Write for five minutes on a given prompt, which today is “lift”

happiness-824419_640

“To You, O Lord, I lift up my soul.  O my God, in You I trust.”  (Psalm 25:1-2)

Psalm 25 is one of my favourite Psalms and I love the version of it I’ve included at the end of this post, but as I thought about verse 1, it made me ponder what it actually means to lift up our souls to God.

I’m cheating a bit today in terms of the five minute limit as I did do a bit of research on this.  I found this article which defines what the word the Hebrew word for soul means in the Bible: “Nepes in the Old Testament is never the “immortal soul” but simply the life principle or living being…  Clearly, then, in the Old Testament a mortal is a living soul rather than having a soul. Instead of splitting a person into two or three parts, Hebrew thought sees a unified being, but one that is profoundly complex.”

Or, as John Ortberg puts it: “Your soul is what integrates your will (your intentions), your mind (your thoughts and feelings, your values, your conscience), and your body (your face, body language, actions) into a single life.”

So it seems that it is lifting up our entire being to God, not holding back any part of ourselves, putting our hope and our trust entirely in God for everything.

In the Psalm, David puts his hope in God for several things: rescue from his enemies and victory over them, direction for the future, salvation,  forgiveness and mercy.

He lifts up his whole being to God and shows amazing trust as he places every part of his life and himself in God’s hands, and it inspires me to do the same.

“No one whose hope is in you will ever be put to shame”  (Psalm 25:3)

_____________________________________________________________________________________

It’s hard to believe that on Monday it will have been a year since I began blogging here.  Especially if you’ve been a regular visitor, I’d love if you’d join me then for a special post with an important announcement and possibly a video (!)

 

8 thoughts on “To You I Lift Up My Soul

Leave a Reply

