September & October Playlist

I wrote in August about how I had decided to create a short playlist for each month.  I was discovering so many great songs but felt that I wasn’t getting to know any of them properly, so I decided to create a playlist in order to be intentional about getting to know a small number of songs.  You can read about August’s list here.

Due to some unexpected events at the start of September I had no time to come up with a list, and since I am taking part in Write 31 Days in October I expect I will be pushed for time then too, so I have created a slightly longer list for the next six weeks or so.  For all of them apart from the first one, you can click on the titles to listen to the songs.

  1. God of All My Days- Casting Crowns
    Casting Crowns have been one of my favourite Christian bands for a few years now so I was excited to listen to their new album “The Very Next Thing” which was released last week.  I will be listening to the whole album, but the song that particularly stood out to me is this one: God Of All My Days.
    Unfortunately I couldn’t find a version of this song to link to, but you can hear the title track of the album here.i-came-to-you-with-my-heart-in-piecesand-found-the-god-with-healing-in-his-hands-i-turned-to-you-put-everything-behind-meand-found-the-god-who-makes-all-things-new-i-looked-to-you-drowning-in-my

2. Who I Am– Blanca
With so many different voices we could listen to, this reminds me to listen to the truth.

3. The Voyage– Amanda Cook
This encourages me to step out into the unknown, trusting God, and that when we do he can use us, and through our actions he can make a way for others.

speak-even-if-your-voice-is-trembling-please-youve-been-quiet-for-so-long-believe-itll-be-worth-the-risk-youre-taking-what-if-the-path-you-choose-becomes-a-road

4. The Unmaking– Nichole Nordeman
I used to listen to Nichole Nordeman’s music a lot so I was pleased to discover she had a new album released last year.  As I focus on the word “surrender” this year, I’m struck by the call to let go of ourselves and the things we are clinging to, give it all to God and let him have his way.

5. The Lord Is My Salvation– Keith and Kristyn Getty
I love Keith and Kristyn Getty’s music- the Celtic sound and the lyrics that are so full of beautifully-expressed truth.  This song reminds me that, whatever our situation, Jesus is enough.

“Who is like the Lord our God?
Strong to save, faithful in love
My debt is paid and the vict’ry won
The Lord is my salvation.”

6. Keeper Of The Stars– Laura Story
Another reminder of God’s faithfulness, and that what we give up to God is safe in his hands.  He is the keeper of the stars, he is in control, and when we trust him, he will lead us.

7. Gates– Love & The Outcome (featuring Francesca Battistelli)
This song just makes me happy.  It talks about the times we spend waiting for God, crying out to him to move in a situation but also reminds me of the power of praise and thanksgiving, of pressing into God, accepting that while we don’t have all the answers right now that he has won the ultimate victory, and celebrating that.

i-will-run-through-the-gateswith-thanksgiving-and-praiseto-the-place-where-freedoms-foundwhere-my-fears-come-crashing-down

On the subject of music, please join me in October for 31 Days of Songs and Stories.  We’ll spend the month sharing stories of how God has used songs to speak or encourage in particular situations.  The series will include guest posts and the stories behind some popular worship songs.  I hope you’ll join me.

Finally, I have created a Facebook page for the blog so I’d love to see you there.

31-days-psalm-21v13

 

playlist-september-october-2016

writingplaylist

          purposefulfaith.com        Holly Barrett

18 thoughts on “September & October Playlist

  1. I absolutely LOVE the Love and the Outcome song too … I’ve been listening to it for a couple of weeks now, and I never get tired of it. “The Unmaking” also is one of my favorites. Can’t wait to check out a few more of these … thanks for the list!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Lesley! Do you know I don’t know any of these songs? This is great! I love learning about new Christian music. It’s good to get new inspiration, don’t you think?
    Have a wonderful Wednesday!
    Ceil

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t listen to music very often (it may be a reaction to having a husband who likes to listen to music too loudly and for too long when we’re in the car together), but I always love reading about songs that resonate with other people (it saves me browsing time 😉 ). Thank you for sharing your list!

    Like

Leave a Reply

