5 Truths To Encourage

linking with Five Minute Friday
write for 5 minutes on a given prompt, which today is “five”
also linking with Glimpses

gerbera-1250287_640

I wasn’t quite sure where to take this prompt, but in the end I thought I’d pass on some encouragement for your Friday.  Here are five Bible verses that have encouraged me recently and I hope they encourage you too.

Psalm 139:13-14 “You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body and knit me together in my mother’s womb.  Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex!  Your workmanship is marvellous- how well I know it.” 

Knowing that God designed and created me helps me to accept myself for who I am.  I love how the phrase “wonderfully complex” in the NLT because I often feel my mind is just too complex and I don’t even understand myself at times, but this encourages me to accept who God has created me to be.

Psalm 23:1 “The Lord is my shepherd.  I have everything I need.”

I’m doing a study just now on Lysa Terkeurst’s book “Univited” and one thing that has stood out to me is that we can either enter a situation feeling empty, looking for others to fill that emptiness, or we can enter it knowing God’s fullness, drawing our strength and acceptance from him and looking to bless others.  This verse reminds me that God is with me, and that in him I have all I need, both for myself and to share with others.

Romans 15:13 “I pray that God, the source of hope, will fill you completely with joy and peace because you trust in him. Then you will overflow with confident hope through the power of the Holy Spirit.”

Again, God promises fullness and abundance.  If our hope is in him, he doesn’t give us “just enough” but he fills us to overflowing.

Psalm 27:1 “The Lord is my light and my salvation- whom shall I fear?  The Lord is the stronghold of my life- of whom shall I be afraid?”

Remembering that God is bigger than anything or anyone we fear is powerful, and is the way to peace.  As Lysa Terkeurst puts it: “The peace of our souls does not rise and fall with unpredictable people or situations…the peace of our souls is tethered to all that God is.”

Proverbs 31:8 “Speak up for those who cannot speak for themselves; ensure justice for those being crushed.”

This encourages me in something I believe God is calling me into, not to be silent but to speak up and make a difference for others.

What Bible verse have encouraged you recently?  Feel free to share in the comments.

A couple of quick announcements:

I now have a Facebook page for the blog which you can find here.  

And finally, some exciting news!  The Five Minute Friday Book is out on Monday!  I’m honoured to be one of the contributors to this book.  Look out for further information soon.

Its-a-Five-Minute-FridayBOOK1-600x503

   Barbie Swihart - Embracing Every Day

30 thoughts on “5 Truths To Encourage

    1. Thanks, Anita. That really spoke to me too when I read the book. I think remembering we are already completely loved by God makes a big difference in how we approach others.

      Like

  1. I love these verses and your account of what they mean to you, Lesley. I am reading Uninvited, too. 🙂 I love it! I’m following along with the Bible study at Proverbs31. A verse that was mentioned on today’s post gives me such comfort. Because He was rejected for us, we will never suffer His rejection. People may reject or uninvite us, but He never will!

    “He was despised and rejected by mankind,
    a man of suffering, and familiar with pain.
    Like one from whom people hide their faces
    He was despised, and we held Him in low esteem.”
    Isaiah 53:3

    I hope you have a hope-filled weekend! Hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s the Proverbs 31 study that I’m doing too, Trudy, though I’m a few days behind at the moment. I love the verse you shared from Isaiah. It is comforting when we feel rejected to know that Jesus understands how we feel, and also encouraging to know that he never rejects us. Hope you have a lovely weekend too.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. My favorite this morning. “Oh remember, remember, that there is no other way nor means whereby man can be saved, only through the atoning blood of Jesus Christ. who shall come, yea, remember he cometh to redeem the world.” Helaman 5:9
    Thanks for your verses today.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lesley, these are great. That last verse from proverbs is really speaking to my heart in our broken world especially as of late. I’ll get my post to you later today or tomorrow. I’m over in the 37 spot this week.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. “…be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, even as God in Christ forgave you.” – Ephesians 4:32 (NKJV)

    I find in these words both comfort, knowing that Christ has, is and will continue to forgive me, and a much-needed, constant reminder to slow down and remember that I don’t know the whole story. None of us should ever lay down and put up with abuse, but nor should we be quick to judge. We just don’t know what others are facing.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi Lesley! I love the passage from St. Paul to the Romans. Joy and peace because of trust. Ah. Who wouldn’t want that benediction?
    Congratulations on being published!! That is so exciting, and I’m so proud for you 🙂 You deserve this honor.
    Sunday blessings,
    Ceil

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Ceil. Yes, the promise of joy and peace is such an amazing one to hold on to. Thank you for your encouragement about the book. Anyone who takes part in Five Minute Friday was invited to contribute, but I’m looking forward to seeing it. Blessings to you!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Beautiful Bible verses, Lesley! They’re all deeply meaningful to me. And these words also spoke to my soul today: “the peace of our souls is tethered to all that God is”, bringing a needful breath of peace after several days where it had been missing. Thank you! Have a blessed week. x

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Love the verses you chose. Psalm 139 is my favorite and it always speaks to me. Ephesians 3:14-21 has been speaking to me recently and I have shared the same words with others to encourage them. Hope you have a blessed week.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

