31 Days Of Songs And Stories

rise-up-o-lord-in-all-your-power-with-music-and-singing-we-celebrate-your-mighty-acts

Welcome to my Write 31 Days series of Songs and Stories!  I’m so glad you’ve joined me here.

Songs and stories are two of my favourite things, and I believe that music is something that God uses powerfully.

A few years ago, I attended a church service which consisted of several people in turn sharing stories of a song God had used to speak to them, encourage them or comfort them in a particular situation.  After they had shared their story, everyone sang the song together to worship God.

It is one of the most uplifting, faith-building services I have ever attended, and that is what sparked the idea for this blog series.

“Music has an amazing ability to transport hope, joy and peace, just when we need it most.” (Matt Redman)

Over the next month, I will be sharing some stories of how God has used songs to speak to me, as well as some stories behind well-known worship songs being written.

I have also invited some friends to share.  Tuesdays and Thursdays will be guest post days and there will be stories from across the United States, as well as from the Netherlands, South Africa and Scotland.

I hope you will learn some new songs this month and be encouraged, but most of all, I hope that you will be inspired to praise our amazing God by the stories shared and the ways he has used songs to comfort and encourage his children.

“The greater the storms we face, the louder our songs must be.”  (Matt Redman)

As I have prepared this series, what has struck me most is that God speaks in the midst of the most desperate situations.  He uses music to comfort people in the midst of anxiety, depression, loneliness, challenges and uncertainty.  He draws close to us in the midst of our struggles and then he points us beyond them to his sovereignty and splendour.

Whatever your circumstances, I hope you will find a story to relate to, and a song to call you to worship.

“Rise up, O Lord, in all your power.  With music and singing we celebrate your mighty acts.”  (Psalm 21:13)

Click here to go to the index page for the series.
Posts will be added to this page as they are published.

31-days-button

12 thoughts on “31 Days Of Songs And Stories

  1. Lesley, I’m so glad I get to share here this month. I’m no musician but I love love music. Excited to hear new songs and listen to, I’m sure, some of my faves. I love the Matt Redman quotes you shared.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

