Even When

This is day 6 of 31 Days of Songs and Stories.  For an index of all the posts in the series, click here.

image-gabriele-even-when

Tuesdays and Thursdays are guest post days, and today I’m pleased to feature a guest post from Gabriele Burgess

While taking an online class called “Living Brave” by Brené Brown I had an interesting assignment.

In the exercise I was to find my arena anthem – a song that would inspire me to stay brave when the gremlins start getting to me or when I start to doubt my ability to stay vulnerable through the tough parts of life.

I chose “Even When” by Hilary Weeks because my strength really comes from cleaving unto my Savior in these vulnerable places in my life. I seek for approval from my children, my husband, and others, but none give me peace and strength like approval from my Heavenly Father and Jesus. I play this song quietly in the dark and sometimes as loud as I can. I adore the play with words like even while, even when. These short hooks anchor the song in my brain.

The Father sent his Son to show the way, 
And I try to follow. 

There are times I run. there are times when I have to walk, 
And some days I don’t move at all. 
I know I must let him down when he sees, 
I am not as far as I could be.

But he loves me still, he loves me through, even while, even when, 
He loves me anyway, in spite of, and more than 
When I slip and I fall, when I’m weak, even when I should hold on, 
He loves me still, he loves me still, and something tells me he always will.

You say you can relate, sometimes you feel the same, 
You are not where you want to be. 
The fear makes you doubt, and the doubt holds you back, 
And now you are holding back your heart. 
I have walked down that road before, 
I have felt his grace and I know,

He doesn’t wait for the moment we deserve it, 
He doesn’t hold back his grace till we earn it. 
Oh, no, he knows we take time.

But he loves us still, he loves us through, even while, even when, 
He loves us anyway, in spite of, and more than 
When we slip and we fall, when we’re weak, even when we should hold on, 
He loves us still, he loves us still, and something tells me he always will.

The greatest peace I find is knowing that Christ loves me.

When I am asked how I feel Christ’s love I think about how I feel love from others. I feel their love when I am paying attention to them, when my heart is open to them. I feel their love when I am mindful of what they do for me and how they bless my life. Our relationship to Christ works the same way. I give him my attention through prayer and gospel study, and by being still and waiting on Him. I try to open my heart to him and listen to the spirit. I look around and see the beauty of his creation and express gratitude by paying attention.

His love heals.

My knives were exceptionally sharp. I was cutting carrots for soup. The tip pierced the skin on my finger. I ignored it until I was doing the dishes in hot water. A sharp throbbing pain brought my hand out of the water to investigate. It was the size of a mustard seed but the skin was gone and it was too sensitive to ignore. For three days I was reminded of the wound. Then on the fourth I rubbed gently alongside my finger. A ridge of new skin was tender but now closed. The healing power of the body is simply amazing.

But, some wounds just don’t heal. The pain washes over us again and again. We can’t let it go and so we bandage. Sometimes the bandage is blame. Sometimes we bandage with self loathing. Bandaging protects our hearts but it cannot heal. So, how is it done? How does Christ take our pain? I wish I had the words. His balm spreads relief in every crevasse of my being. The air in his presence allows me to inhale faith. With the breath of faith I can exhale hope which brings such deep relief. He offers me space to abide with him in charity, which is His love and his domain.

“But he loves me still, he loves me through, even while, even when, 
He loves me anyway, in spite of , and more than 
When I slip and I fall, when I’m weak, even when I should hold on, 
He loves me still, he loves me still, and something tells me he always will.”

gabriele-bio-picGabriele is a wife, mother, and grandmother. She teaches piano to a busload of happy students and uses every little extra minute to play with paint and make art. You can find her at www.backontheflooragain.blogspot.com where she is getting off the floor and trying new things even when they seem hard.

 

31-days-button

linking with Thought-Provoking Thursday, Heart Encouragement Thursday and Fresh Market Friday

   grab button for Crystal Storms  Crystal Twaddell

10 thoughts on “Even When

Leave a Reply

