No Compromise

This is day 10 of 31 Days of Songs and Stories.  For an index of all the posts in the series, click here.

Keith Green- Your love broke through.png

When my friend recommended the book and told me I should read it I wasn’t sure at first.  Why would I want to read the biography of someone I’d never heard of?  But she was determined that I had to read this book.  She eventually gave me a copy for my birthday to make sure I read it, and I’m grateful that she did because it is one of the most inspiring biographies I have ever read.

The book is “No Compromise- The Life Story of Keith Green” written by his widow, Melody Green.

His story is fascinating: he enjoyed early success as a child singer which was abruptly halted as he was eclipsed by Donny Osmond.  This gave way to a life of restlessness  and drug taking, but always underpinned by a spiritual seeking, until he finally came to faith in Jesus at the age of 21.

If I had to sum up Keith Green’s story in one word, I would choose “passion.”  Once he had discovered Jesus, his passion and the driving force of his life was to share that with others- driving miles just to have the chance to witness to a friend and opening his home to support several new believers or people in need, as well as witnessing through his music.

I love this song, “Your Love Broke Through” which describes the difference Jesus made in his life:

“Like a foolish dreamer, trying to build a highway to the sky
All my hopes were coming tumbling down, and I never knew just why,
Until today, when you pulled away the clouds that hung like curtains on my eyes
Well I’ve been blind all these wasted years and I thought I was so wise,
But then you took me by surprise.

Like waking up from the longest dream; how real it seemed
Until your love broke through.
I’ve been lost in a fantasy, that blinded me
Until your love broke through”

Keith Green was also passionate about living for Jesus, and uncompromising in his message to Christians that following Jesus should mean living for him in every area of life- that a half-hearted version of Christianity is not good enough.

His songs, and his life story as told in the book, are still incredibly challenging today.

I think this live version of his song “Asleep In The Light” really captures his passion and his message:

“Do you see?
Do you see?
All the people sinking down?
Don’t you care?
Don’t you care?
Are you gonna let them drown?
How can you be so numb?!
Not to care if they come
You close your eyes,
And pretend the job is done…
Oh, can’t you see it’s such sin?!
The world is sleeping in the dark,
But the church just can’t fight,
’cause it’s asleep in the light!
How can you be so dead?!
When you’ve been so well fed
Jesus rose from the grave,
And you!
You can’t even get out of bed!”

Keith Green’s life was cut tragically short.  In 1982, at the age of just 28, he was killed in a plane crash, along with his son Josiah and his daughter Bethany, leaving his wife Melody, his daughter Rebekah and another baby on the way.

However his legacy and his music continued to impact millions of lives, and still do so today.

31-days-button

linking with Literacy Musing Monday

Literacy-Musing-Mondays- Family-Friendly linkup where we celebrate reading!

 

 

16 thoughts on “No Compromise

  1. Hi Lesley … thanks for taking us back to Keith Green’s music, his faith. Memories are flowing as I listen to these songs. What a loss to us all …

    And look! You’ve made it through 1/3 of 31 Days! Congrats, friend!

    ;-}

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Linda. Glad it brings back some memories. It is a huge loss. I can’t believe it’s day 10 already! It’s going quickly but I’m really enjoying doing this series.

      Like

  2. This is such an amazing testimony, Lesley. I have never heard of him or his songs. I really love how God’s love broke through. It gives such hope, doesn’t it? It’s so sad that his and some of his children’s lives were so short. What a devastating loss for his wife and other children! But thank God, his life was not in vain and is still spreading hope in Jesus even today. Blessings and hugs to you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is an amazing story of the difference knowing God makes. It does give hope. It is sad that his life was cut short but great that he made a difference for so many people in such a short space of time. Blessings and hugs!

      Like

  3. Hi Lesley! What a story! People’s lives are just so complex, and this singer is no exception. Imagine his feeling eclipsed by someone else, and despairing so much. Such a sad ending too. I hope his wife and daughter are doing well now.
    How amazing that his life was described by ‘passion’. He experienced so much trial, and yet was graced enough to keep on going. Wonderful songs, and thank you for sharing them. I know his life has influenced you, and through you, all of us.
    Blessings,
    Ceil

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Ceil! It is a great story- so true that people’s lives are complex. It is sad how his story ended. He died in 1982 and the version of the book I have is from 2000. There is an epilogue where his wife writes about continuing the ministry Keith started and it seems like she and their 2 daughters (one born after Keith’s death) were doing well and all following Jesus.
      I’m glad you liked the songs.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’d definitely recommend the book. The only song of his I’d heard before reading the book is the hymn “There is a Redeemer”. It was actually written by his wife but he recorded it.

      Like

    1. Thanks, Anna. I’m glad it reminds you of your Mum. I love the song you’ve shared too. It was hard to choose the songs for the post as I like so many of his songs!

      Like

Leave a Reply

