Beautiful Things

This is day 13 of 31 Days of Songs and Stories.  For an index of all the posts in the series, click here.

sprout-1147803_640

Today I’d like to welcome Tara Ulrich to share a story of a song that has been special to her.

“All this pain; I wonder if I’ll ever find my way?
 I wonder if my life could really change at all?
All this earth; Could all that is lost ever be found?; 
Could a garden come up from this ground at all?

You make beautiful things; 
You make beautiful things out of the dust; 
You make beautiful things; 
You make beautiful things out of us;

All around; Hope is springing up from this old ground; 
Out of chaos life is being found in You;  

You make beautiful things; 
You make beautiful things out of the dust; 
You make beautiful things; 
You make beautiful things out of us.” (Gungor; Beautiful Things lyrics)

The first time I heard these words I simply let them wash over me. Something about these words sunk straight into my heart and soul. As a daughter of a woman who lives with a mental illness, I’ve experienced the pain and vulnerability that comes with the illness. There have been days I prayed for our story to be different.

“All this pain; I wonder if I’ll ever find my way?”

This pain hangs in the air each and every day.

This pain that causes me to catch my breath; grasping for air.

This pain that melts me into a puddle of tears at a moment’s notice.

This pain……This pain that reminds me of a God who walks this journey with us.

And then God takes that pain and transforms it. “Behold I make all things new!” Because hope eternal does spring up from the ground. Hope shows me that God can transform something ugly into something incredibly beautiful. Hope shows me that God marks the sign of the cross onto our foreheads and claims us as children of God. Hope takes the dust of the earth and makes beautiful things.

I don’t know about you, but I will cling to that promise each and every day. Every time I hear this song, I let the words wash over me like a gentle summer rain. These holy words that remind me of a God who promises to never leave me or forsake me.

And as God stands next to me, the dust blows away like a North Dakota prairie wind; transforming that dust into one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever seen. A rainbow appears in the sky and that rainbow reminds me of the promise God gave to Noah and gives to us. We will never be left alone as daughters and sons of this one true king.

And that may be one of the most beautiful things about our stories. God takes God’s sons and daughters; transforming them from peasants to royalty!

“You make beautiful things; You make beautiful things out of us!” 

headshottara

Tara Ulrich lives in Minot, ND where she serves at a Lutheran church as a deacon called to Home and Family ministry. . She is a graduate of the University of Mary (Bismarck, ND) and Wartburg Theological Seminary. She loves to spend time with her friends and family, reading, writing, and on the beautiful prairies of North Dakota. You can follow her at her blog Praying on the Prairie.

 

Twitter-@diakonia78
F
acebook-Praying on the Prairie
Instagram-Taralee78

31-days-button

linking with Thought-Provoking Thursday Heart Encouragement Thursday and Fresh Market Friday

 grab button for Crystal Storms  Crystal Twaddell

23 thoughts on “Beautiful Things

  1. Love this beautiful reminder that God takes all our pain and grief and washes it anew. Sorry you are suffering from the aftermath of a loved one struggling with mental illness. Praying God will strengthen you today and shower you with His comfort and blessings Tara!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tara, I love how God speaks to us through songs that point to His Word. Songs that remind us He’s working all things — even hard things — for our good and His glory. Thank you for sharing your heart.
    And thank you, Lesley, for sharing her words. : )

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Lesley and Tara! Thank you so much for sharing the meaning of this song for you. You truly know about living with pain. I am a lot like you, if I like a song I let it ‘wash over me’ too. Music truly does heal.
    Nice to meet you today!
    Ceil

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Tara, this is such a beautiful song and one I love hearing on our Christian radio station frequently. What a truly amazing gift we all can relate to…God transforming our worst into His best! This truth is so much more powerful with the words of the song written to read. Such an encouraging and comforting post:) Glad to have it shared on Fresh Market Friday!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

