Come Like A Child

This is day 21 of 31 Days of Songs and Stories.  For an index of all the posts in the series, click here.

girl-996635_640

“One day some parents brought their little children to Jesus so he could touch and bless them. But when the disciples saw this, they scolded the parents for bothering him.
Then Jesus called for the children and said to the disciples, “Let the children come to me. Don’t stop them! For the Kingdom of God belongs to those who are like these children. I tell you the truth, anyone who doesn’t receive the Kingdom of God like a child will never enter it.””  (Luke 18:15-17)

Sometimes Often I overcomplicate things.  Life is certainly complex at the best of times, but I can get bogged down in trying to understand, or (if I’m honest) trying to control.  It can feel like everything depends on me- that I have to sort it out, that I have to fix it, that I have to have the answers or, if I don’t, that I need to find them.

A few years ago, I was driving to visit a friend who was struggling with anorexia.  It was a situation that felt overwhelming and very complicated.  I desperately wanted to help, to show love, to say the right things, but I didn’t know how to do that or what to say.  I was also struggling with the fact that my many prayers for her seemed to be going unanswered.  I hated to see her suffer and I hated that I couldn’t see where God was in this situation.

I was going to be involved in a children’s holiday club the following week and I had a CD of songs for that, so I thought I would use the driving time to familiarise myself with some of the songs.  I had no expectation that God would use those songs so powerfully, but the simple truths of one song in particular spoke to my heart.

“Our God is so powerful,
Nothing’s too hard for him and
Our God is reliable,
So good he never changes.

God, he made me.
He knows what I need better than anyone.
God, he loves me.
He only wants good things for me.

So I’m gonna
Fully rely on God,
I’m gonna trust him with all I’ve got.
I know he will never let me down.
Fully rely on God,
I’m gonna trust him with all I’ve got.
Fully rely on God,
Cos he can do anything.”

It’s a simple song, but it pointed me back to the simple truths I needed to remember.  God is all-powerful and all-knowing, he is good and he is faithful, he is in control.  In the midst of all that I didn’t know I needed to focus on what I did know.  And if I really believed those things then I needed to trust, even when I didn’t understand, even when I couldn’t see what God was doing.

As I took my eyes off the situation and fixed them on the character of God, faith and hope began to rise once again.

There’s a reason why God tells us to come to him like little children, and there is a lot we can learn from them about how we approach him.

“Lord, I have given up my pride
    and turned away from my arrogance.
I am not concerned with great matters
    or with subjects too difficult for me.
Instead, I am content and at peace.
As a child lies quietly in its mother’s arms,
    so my heart is quiet within me.
Israel, trust in the Lord
    now and forever!”  (Psalm 131)

31-days-button

linking with Word of God Speak and Grace and Truth

Word-of-God-Speak    Grace&Truth-300x300

 

 

Leave a Reply

