Flawless

This is day 23 of 31 Days of Songs and Stories.  For an index of all the posts in the series, click here.

christian-1316169_640

The album I have listened to more than any other this year is undoubtedly “Welcome to the New” by MercyMe.

I love each of the songs and there are several I could write about, but I am going to restrict myself to two which I will feature today and tomorrow.

Today’s song “Flawless” is one I have particularly clung to, as it reminds me of truth.

The lyrics of the chorus say it all:

Flawless.png

I’m sure we all have times when the pain and brokenness overwhelms us (It can’t just be me!)  I felt this way one day a few months ago as some painful memories resurfaced and this was my go-to song.  As I made a car journey that evening I put this song on repeat.  I must have listened to it six or seven times and eventually the message sank in.

“The cross has made you flawless…The cross was enough.”

I love how this video highlights that: no matter what struggles we have endured in the past, no matter what battles we are currently fighting, no matter what we fear about the future, no matter what labels we may have been given by others or placed on ourselves, we are flawless because of what Jesus did on the cross.

“For God in all his fullness was pleased to live in Christ, and through him God reconciled everything to himself.  He made peace with everything in heaven and on earth by means of Christ’s blood on the cross.  This includes you who were once far away from God. You were his enemies, separated from him by your evil thoughts and actions.  Yet now he has reconciled you to himself through the death of Christ in his physical body. As a result, he has brought you into his own presence, and you are holy and blameless as you stand before him without a single fault.” (Colossians 1:19-22)

31-days-button

linking with Give Me Grace

blogbutton

8 thoughts on “Flawless

Leave a Reply

