Dear Younger Me…

This is day 24 of 31 Days of Songs and Stories.  For an index of all the posts in the series, click here.

Dear Younger Me....png

If you could write a letter to your younger self, what would you say?

Even after reflecting on that question for a long time I’m not sure I have a clear answer.

Would I try to tell her something that would change her circumstances?  Would I give her advice about how to respond?  Would I encourage her in her worth and value, reassure her that she didn’t have to be perfect, make sure she understood that life wasn’t about pleasing other people- she could just be herself?

How would any of that change her life today?

It’s impossible to know.  The difficulty is that, when I look back, the good and the bad are so intertwined that they are impossible to separate.  The darkest, loneliest times are the times that have drawn me to God and, while there are things I wish had been different, I can also see that God was always there, and that he has worked a lot of good even in the midst of the bad.

I think if certain circumstances had been different I would have been more confident, I would have been happier, I would not have been held back so much by fear and anxiety, I would have felt more secure instead of basing my value on other people’s opinions, I would have been able to be myself instead of feeling I needed to hide…

…but I’m afraid that I might also have become self-sufficient and proud, that I might not have seen my need for God in the same way, that I might not have learned to turn to him and to pray to him at such an early age.

Bart Millard from MercyMe wrestles with the same question in the song “Dear Younger Me” and has the same difficulty in deciding what to say.

There is the same sense of seeing how things could have been different:

“If I knew then what I know now,
Condemnation would’ve had no power.
My joy my pain would’ve never been my worth.”

But also the sense that God is at work, using even the hard times:

“Every mountain, every valley,
Through each heartache you will see
Every moment brings you closer
To who you were meant to be,
Dear younger me, dear younger me.”

The story behind the song is also interesting.  This short video explains a little bit about how it was written.

Interestingly, while I have never written a letter to the younger me, I did find a letter a while ago that I had written to the older me.  I think I had written it when I was about 13 and it was meant to be opened on my 18th birthday.  I can’t remember whether I knew where it was or opened it at that point, but obviously I still had it years later.

The main point of the letter is explaining why I followed Jesus as a 13 year old and why that was the most important thing, and telling myself that if I wasn’t still following him as an 18 year old I needed to sort myself out!

It encouraged me that, despite her faults and her issues and the situations she had to deal with, the younger me was doing okay.  She definitely didn’t always get it right and she didn’t always practice what she preached, but deep down she had her priorities straight and she knew where her hope was to be found.

I think if I was to write to her, while I’m still not sure of everything I would say, I’d want to give her that same encouragement to keep going, keep following Jesus.  I’d want to encourage her that God is with her, that he’s not going to let go of her through everything that lies ahead, and I’d want to assure her of her identity, that no matter what others may say or what she may think, these words from the song describe who she truly is.

“You are holy,
You are righteous,
You are one of the redeemed.
Set apart, a brand new heart,
You are free indeed.”

31-days-button

linking with GlimpsesLiteracy Musing Monday and Testimony Tuesday

V2 300px_Glimpses   Literacy-Musing-Mondays- Family-Friendly linkup where we celebrate reading!   Holly Barrett

 

14 thoughts on “Dear Younger Me…

  1. Hi Lesley! I love your point about blessings and hard stuff being so intertwined it’s hard to separate them. It reminds me of the parable of the good seed/plants raising up with the weeds. Just like the author of this song had trouble figuring out what to say in his lyrics, we often stumble trying to figure out how to address our lives too.
    I think I would say to myself that worrying is overrated, and that it’s all going to work out. That is something I might not have believed, at least not right away, but that’s the kind of thing that we all need to hear more of.
    Blessings,
    Ceil

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Ceil! I was thinking about that parable! I was going to mention it but the post was getting too long.
      I agree, there is a lot that I worried about far too much that wasn’t really worth the time and effort, though as you say, we may have struggled to believe that at the time.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This really resonates with me, Lesley. Your words and the song. I don’t think I’ve heard the song before, so thank you. Also for the video of the reason behind it. “Condemnation would’ve had no power” especially leaves me with a longing that I could be free of that forever. It doesn’t have the power like it did before I worked through things and it gets less power as I open my heart more to Jesus’ love, but sometimes it pops up out of nowhere. My husband tells me I should get “guilty” out of my vocabulary. Such a subconscious reaction sometimes. Anyway, I have to often remind myself of Romans 8:1, that there is no condemnation in Christ Jesus. 🙂 This post also makes me reflect on how different we would be today without that bad intertwined into our lives. We wouldn’t have as much empathy and compassion towards hurting souls, would we? Thank you for encouraging me today. Blessings and hugs to you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Trudy. I’m glad I was able to introduce you to the song and that it encouraged you.
      Praying that condemnation has less and less power over you and that the truth continues to sink in deeper and deeper. It’s hard when the lies have seemed so powerful but Romans 8:1 is a great verse to hold on to.
      I agree, the hard times can definitely develop empathy and compassion that wouldn’t have been there otherwise. Blessings and hugs to you!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Lesley I don’t think I would change a thing about younger me. I love life right now. I think the younger me did ok and now I’m the older me.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love this song and thanks for sharing the story behind it. If I were to write a letter to a younger me, I would tell her how very much she is loved by her Heavenly Father. I had no concept of that love growing up and it could have made things so much easier. Thanks for sharing at “glimpses” this week!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Barbie. Knowing how much God loves us definitely makes a huge difference. I would like to have grasped that sooner too. Praying that you know his love afresh today!

      Like

Leave a Reply

