Lord, I Need You

This is day 27 of 31 Days of Songs and Stories.  For an index of all the posts in the series, click here

Today I’m pleased to feature a guest post from Meghan Weyerbacher.

mhAR1BY.jpg

When I heard Lesley was doing a series on songs and opened up her blog home to us, my mind immediately went to a song that has been branded into the very fibers of my heart.

There are many amazing songs I could tell you about, ones that make me smile or cry, or make me want to dance like David did when he barely bothered to care about his garments falling down.

Instead, there is a song that has spoken to me in the deep places. The tough places.  The places I didn’t want anyone to know about, even in the church. It is worth sharing with you, friend.

This song holds a special place in my heart because it was the first song I sang to my church family as I stepped out of my comfort zone in obedience. I have always sung in private, but most of my life I have forced myself to remain glued to the pew when the floor is open for people to share their gift and lead in worship.

I never felt worthy enough, good enough….yeah, all that.

God is working on me in that department still. He is daily reminding me I am enough in His arms, because of what Christ has done for me because of His great love for me.

God’s love is far above the best or worst thought we could ever think about ourselves.

God’s love for us is steady and strong and remains unchanged, when nothing else can promise that.

This song became a favorite of many in my home church, not because of its upbeat rhythm or a perfect performance, but because the lyrics are simple and profound – speaking great truth straight into the very heart of the listener.

“Lord, I come – I confess,
bowing here, I find my rest.
Without You, I fall apart,
You’re the One Who guides my heart.

 Lord, I need You – Oh, I need You,
Every hour I need You.
My one defense, my righteousness,
Oh, God how I need You. 

Where sin runs deep, Your Grace is more,
Where Grace is found, is where You are,
And where You are, Lord I am free;
Holiness is Christ in me.”

Standing there on the stage, not feeling worthy to even utter the words, I felt His love embrace me.  The song was over, people were still at the altar, and I heard the song start again.

He embraced me that day in a way that said, “I love you, Meghan. You don’t have to be anything other than yourself. Just sing, and I will touch hearts like I am touching yours right now.

  • I put so much pressure on myself. He lives to make the burden light.
  • I strive to be good at what I am doing. He lives to remind me of why I am doing what I do.
  • I tend to want to shy away. He lives to gently pull me into the open.

When my uncle passed away this year it was emotional for many of us in many different ways. He was a veteran, and too young in my opinion -but God is good and I will see my uncle again because he loved the Lord, dearly.

For his funeral I was asked to sing and also pick out the song.  As my eyes got big at such a privilege, my mind took me to Lord, I Need You.

During the funeral-turned-church-service, many people who were lost and hurting cried out to the Lord that day and to each other.  I didn’t even get the lyrics right on the bridge from being so caught up in the moment, but it didn’t faze me. God carried me through it and no even noticed the oops.

That day, hearts were softened. People remembered they were loved.

That day walls were broken down.

And that day many people realized it was okay to need God.

megbio2

You can connect with Meghan on her blog Faith Adventures, or on social media.
Twitter:      www.twitter.com/MegWeyerbacher
21 thoughts on “Lord, I Need You

  1. Yay Lesley and Meghan in the same place! Makes me smile : ) I love this song, too, it’s meant much to me in different seasons as well. I love how you put it: it’s a softening song. Sobering, humbling, a drawing near kind of song. What a gift! So glad the Lord has brought you to encourage hearts singing it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Meghan and Leslie! I am familiar with this song, it’s fun to hear it here on Lesley’s blog. I really admire you for singing at that funeral, it must have been so emotional. Yet God was there, knowing that you needed him. How beautiful, and what a powerful witness to the fact that we can do everything in him who strengthens us.
    Nice to meet you today!
    Ceil

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So, so beautiful Meg. Especially this:

    “I put so much pressure on myself. He lives to make the burden light.
    I strive to be good at what I am doing. He lives to remind me of why I am doing what I do.
    I tend to want to shy away. He lives to gently pull me into the open.”

    Oh what a Savior we serve. Thank you for opening your heart and blessing us. Those lyrics are powerful and I just love how God has ministered to and through you through this song.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love this song! Thanks so much for sharing it. What perfect words for you to sing in both of the instances you were able to. I’m sure this song will always hold a very special place in your heart :).

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love this song also, Meg, and have such sweet memories of singing it at our former church. And the message of the song itself is such a good picture of what the Lord was speaking to you personally. I am so thankful that He finds ways to touch our hearts! Thank you for sharing here, and thank you Lesley for offering this encouraging series!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I am touched by your transparency in this blog. I understand quite well how we minimize our gifts because we have a picture in our minds of what that gift should look like. As I read these words, “I didn’t even get the lyrics right on the bridge from being so caught up in the moment, but it didn’t faze me. God carried me through it and no even noticed the oops” , I knew that God has given you an authentic praise that is contagious. Meg, this is only the beginning. God has anointed you to bring healing to the hurting. Continue to allow yourself to be used by God whether sharing the lyrics to a song or words on your blog. Many more will be blessed. I am one of them.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

