Angels’ Song

This is day 30 of 31 Days of Songs and Stories.  For an index of all the posts in the series, click here.

piano-756955_640

This story is one I hesitated to share because it sounds a bit strange.  It was one of those “God moments” that is impossible to completely understand or explain.  All I can do is share my account of what happened.

A few years ago I was involved in a ministry where people could come to receive prayer for healing.  The church where it was held had a main room with two smaller rooms off to either side.  Worship would take place throughout the evening in the main room and people would go into the side rooms individually with some of the team to receive prayer.

One evening I was leading worship in the main room.  I had come to love those evenings, because really it wasn’t so much about leading worship as worshipping and leaving space for others to join in.  It was lovely to have an hour, uninterrupted, to play and sing to God.

On this particular evening there weren’t as many people there as usual, and about halfway through the evening I was left in the main room with only one other person from the team who was singing along with me as I played the piano.  Some people had left to go home and others were in the side rooms praying, but we decided just to keep worshipping.

As we sang the song, “My Praise Overflows” the strangest thing happened.

I was playing and the two of us were singing, when suddenly it seemed like other voices joined with us.  At one point it sounded like four-part harmony, but there were only two of us singing!  I was slightly freaked out, and I wasn’t sure what was happening, but I kept going because it sounded so beautiful and there was such a sense of God’s presence.

When we reached the end of the song, we stopped and the singer immediately turned to me and asked if I had heard it too- it was definitely more than two voices!  She said it must have been angels singing!

A few minutes later someone came out of one of the side rooms and kept praising our singing over and over, saying it was the most beautiful thing he had ever heard.  We just looked at one another and told him that it wasn’t only us he had heard.

I don’t know if it was angel voices we heard that day, though I struggle to come up with any other explanation.  The Bible talks of the angels singing in heaven so, rather than them joining our song, maybe we got to join with theirs as, for a few moments, heaven and earth connected.  Whatever it was, there was a beauty to the music that day that definitely did not come from us and whenever I hear this song it reminds me that as we worship and seek God it makes space for him to draw close.

“Then I looked again, and I heard the voices of thousands and millions of angels around the throne and of the living beings and the elders.  And they sang in a mighty chorus:

“Worthy is the Lamb who was slaughtered—
    to receive power and riches
and wisdom and strength
    and honor and glory and blessing.””  (Revelation 5:11-12)

31-days-button

linking with Give Me Grace

blogbutton

8 thoughts on “Angels’ Song

  1. Hi Lesley! I love your story, and I believe in angels. Your work was so pure and loving in praise, why wouldn’t the angels want to join in?
    When we show our great love and dedication to God, I think he loves to surprise and reward. What a blessing for you that night!
    Ceil

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

