Our Father In Heaven

This is day 31 of 31 Days of Songs and Stories.  For an index of all the posts in the series, click here.

nXvbVvg.jpg

Today we reach the last post in the series 31 Days of Songs and Stories.  For the last month we have shared stories of God using music to speak and encourage, and explored the stories behind some well-known worship songs.

I have certainly been encouraged by this series- by remembering some of the times God has used music in my life, by reading the stories of songwriters and friends, and by being introduced to new songs by some of the guests who have posted here.  I hope it has been an encouragement to you too.

Today I have one final story, which I think brings out the main point that I have taken from this series.

A couple of years ago I went to church with a lot on my mind.  There were various trials and problems in different areas of my life and they were weighing me down.  Towards the end of the service, as we were worshipping, we sang this song “Our Father in heaven.”

I sat down, closed my eyes and just let the words and music wash over me.  As I did, I could see in my mind all the difficulties and struggles, all the situations I wished were different.  I started praying about these things, bringing them before God.

As we reached the part of the song which declares, “Yours is the Kingdom, yours is the power, yours is the glory forever, Amen,” it was as if my eyes were raised away from my problems and worries, and I looked up and saw God sovereign over it all.

In my mind I saw Jesus sitting on the throne.  He was wearing a crown to show that he was King, but the thing that struck me was that it was a crown of thorns and yet it was made of gold, and it was one of the most beautiful sights I have ever seen.

It showed suffering turned to glory and reminded me that in the midst of it all, God was still on the throne and that he had a plan to work things together for good.

And doesn’t that sum up worship- lifting our eyes from ourselves and our own situations to the God who reigns above it all?  We have seen that played out in people’s lives in so many different situations through this series.

I’m going to give the final words to Matt Redman as I think they sum it up beautifully:

“When we sing songs that point us toward eternity, they remind us that there is a plan and that there is a bigger picture.  There is a God who is ever present in our stories, and for all the brokenness that clouds our souls here and now, one day we will encounter the fullness of His unfathomably bright majesty and mercy.”

31-days-button

Thank you for joining with me in this series.  Thank you to Debby, Gabriele, Shauna, Tara, Anna, Chloe, Marie and Meghan for sharing their stories in guest posts, and to each one of you who has read along.

31 Days has been fun and incredibly rewarding but also rather tiring, so I am going to be taking a short break from blogging.  I may post for Five Minute Friday if I feel inspired but I won’t be planning to post apart from that for the next few weeks as there are some other things I need to focus on.  Look forward to catching up with you soon!

linking with Glimpses

V2 300px_Glimpses

12 thoughts on “Our Father In Heaven

  1. Thank you so much for this beautiful series, Lesley. I have really enjoyed and been encouraged by all you and your guests have shared. And well done completing the challenge 😉😊…and enjoy the quieter days.

    I love this song too. So true that all we need to keep doing is look to our God . . . something I can never be reminded off enough.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Such a beautiful ending to this series, Lesley. This really touched my heart. I’m so glad God is always on the throne. I love Matt Redman’s quote, too. Congratulations on completing 31 days! I admire your commitment! Blessings and hugs to you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. First of all, congratulations for finishing Write 31 days and finishing strong. What a beautiful gift you have given your readers. You deserve a break and I pray that you are renewed and restored in the time of rest.

    I will have to take some time to catch up on your series because music is such an important part of my life. Blessings to you my friend!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Lesley! You deserve a break after blogging so faithfully about songs and faith. And thank you for sharing your story about the Lords Prayer in song. Doesn’t God work in such wonderful ways? You really have had a lot of wonderful experiences of his presence in your life. You are blessed indeed.
    Enjoy your time away, but know you will be missed. Blessings on the work you must do,
    Ceil

    Liked by 1 person

  5. YAY! You made it, friend! 31 Days is no small feat … and by His grace you’ve left many blessings along the way.

    I hope this week is bringing you a delightful break from all your efforts.

    Blessings to you this evening …

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

