Enjoyment In Unlikely Places

linking with Five Minute Friday– write for five minutes on a one-word prompt
the prompt today is “enjoy”

gala-day

One of the greatest sources of enjoyment for me in recent years has been the band I play in.  I have always enjoyed music, and there is something beautiful about how it can unite people: people of different ages, from different walks of life, who are very different in personality and outlook, but working together towards a common goal.

It has brought enjoyment in ways I would never have foreseen.  When I joined, I was under the impression that it was a normal concert band, but four months down the line they began talking of uniforms and marching practice and I realised it was something very different from what I had imagined!

Honestly, if I had known that from the start I would never have joined.  I have always hated wearing uniform and I had never done marching band.  However, from the beginning, I had been included and welcomed with open arms by the other members of the band; I liked the people and I liked the music, so I decided to give it a go.  (They later told me they had deliberately not told me about the marching and the uniforms sooner because they didn’t think I’d stay!)

Since then I have enjoyed playing at many different events: from concert halls with over 1000 people to events where the band has outnumbered the audience, from local gala days to tattoos alongside several professional bands.  It has been an adventure, and I have many happy (and bizarre) memories.

Last year we played at a local gala day where we had to march and play for over an hour in torrential rain.  It was also extremely windy- our bass drum player nearly fell over a few times as gusts of wind caught the drum strapped in front of him.

By the end of it we were absolutely soaked.  Much of the music had run together into a soggy blur, and some interesting sounds were coming from some of the instruments as water accumulated in unwanted places… but actually I really enjoyed it.  The local people seemed determined to make the most of their gala day and enjoy it whatever the weather, and they appreciated that we had gone ahead in such bad conditions.  There was a large crowd and a great atmosphere.  After we had been going for ten minutes we couldn’t really have got any wetter anyway, so it made sense just to make the best of it and enjoy the music.

As we were walking back to our cars, talking about how awful the weather had been, I rather hesitantly told some of the others how much I had enjoyed it, wondering if they would think I was mad.  There was a pause, then a chorus of “me too’s” as every single one of them confessed that they had enjoyed it too.  (I realise you might be thinking I’m mad- I think you had to be there! 🙂 )

But that’s the beautiful thing about community- it can bring enjoyment in unlikely places, in ways you’d never have expected and that don’t make sense when you try to explain it to someone who isn’t a part of it, because often the reason it’s so special is not so much the circumstances but the shared experiences.

 

12 thoughts on “Enjoyment In Unlikely Places

  1. Hi Lesley! Well how fun is this? You didn’t mention what instrument you play, did you play in a band when you were in grammar school?
    I agree that community is such a great bonding agent, turning even a rainy, miserable day into a joyful activity. Your band sounds like it’s made up of really fun, supportive people. Of course, that includes you too 🙂
    Have a wonderful weekend!
    Ceil

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Ceil! I play clarinet. I played in a band in school and also in some orchestras but I’d never done marching band until more recently. The band I play in now is made up of a lovely group of people and it is a lot of fun. Hope you have a lovely weekend too!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love how you chose to admit that you had an enjoyable time first. Then you gave permission for everyone else to see the unique experience as unifying. I have never marched or played in a band. It must be energizing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I’m glad I felt able to say it. Marching band is really hard at first. So much multitasking as you’re trying to play, read the tiny music, stay in line, stay on the right foot and march in the right direction, but it is fun once you get it all together!

      Like

  3. I, too, wondered what instrument you play, Lesley. I love how you enjoyed the moment even when it rained, and you passed on your optimism to others, too. It reminds me of that quote – “Life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass. It’s about dancing in the rain.” 🙂 I love also what you bring out that makes a community special. 🙂 Have a blessed weekend! Hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi, Trudy! I play clarinet. I like the quote you shared. It sums it up well. I think everyone did enjoy that day but I’m glad we were able to say that as it seemed to draw us more together. Hope your weekend is good too! Hugs!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow, wow, wow! I had high respect for you before, but my respect level for you just went up by about 10 notches. Awesome, Lesley! I’ve never been in a marching band before, but I’ve always wanted to. If I lived closer, I’d join with you. 🙂
    Love this: “that’s the beautiful thing about community- it can bring enjoyment in unlikely places, in ways you’d never have expected.” So true!
    Have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Shauna! I’d love it if you were close enough to join with us! I hope you get the chance to play in a marching band one day. It is lots of fun but involves major multitasking! Hope you have a great weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Firstly, thanks for visiting. It must be great to be part of your band if you find playing in the rain and getting soaking wet enjoyable. And performing in the dry and warm must be amazing! lol I envy you your musical talent.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

