Created For Connection

linking with Five Minute Friday– write for five minutes on a one-word prompt
Today the prompt is “connect.”

rope-1465324_640

“We are like islands in the sea, separate on the surface but connected in the deep.”
(William James)

We all need connection- it is something we were created for.  Even in the perfection of the Garden of Eden, right at the start, before sin had spoiled the connection with God, there was one thing that God said was not good: “It is not good for man to be alone.”  (Genesis 2:18 NLT)  Adam needed human company, and once Eve was created it went from “not good” to “very good.”  (Genesis 1:31 NLT)

I love how the internet has made that connection so easy, even with people who live on the other side of the world.  People often lament the fact that online connection is hampering face-to-face communication, and I agree that is a danger.  We should be careful to foster our face-to-face relationships and not allow them to be neglected because we are caught up in email or Facebook or blogging.  But there is also a positive side that we shouldn’t ignore.  Over the last couple of years I have benefitted so much from online community.

While in a church situation which was difficult and where there was no opportunity for group Bible study, I was able to connect with others online to read and study together.  When I did become part of a local church small group Bible study again, the experience I had gained through the online studies actually gave me more confidence to share my thoughts than I would have had before and that has led to deeper connections.

I’ve shared before that I was not prepared for the depth of community I would encounter when I began blogging.  I love how we can connect across the miles and across the ocean and that there are people I would consider friends even though we have never met.  I would love to meet some of you in person one day, but for now I am grateful for the connections we have and to be part of this community which has led to so much encouragement and growth.

Just this week I read a post by a blogging friend and it was a major “me too” moment.  As I read her words I felt like she was seeing right into my mind, and this was in an area where I have never truly felt understood before.  It was so reassuring to know that I’m not alone and that someone else gets it.

And that is the beauty of community and connection!


Come and connect with us to read more posts or add your own!

While we’re on the topic of connecting, I am having some technical difficulties in connecting with some of you at the moment.  On certain sites I visit (seems to be some self-hosted WordPress sites but not all) my comments are repeatedly being put in the spam folder, despite being removed multiple times.  Askimet are looking into it but seem as baffled as I am right now.

I don’t want you to think I’m ignoring you!  If you leave a comment here I will try to return the visit, so if you don’t see a comment from me within a couple of days please have a look in your spam folder.

And if anyone has any idea what could be causing this, I’d love to hear from you!  Leave a comment or email lifeinthespaciousplace@yahoo.com.

 

24 thoughts on “Created For Connection

  1. So glad to have connected with you too. My friends who value social media connection actually say we are the first to advocate for face to face communication. It’s just true connections can be made online. It’s even better when we get to meet face to face. I’m in the 9 spot this week.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I definitely think there is value in communication both online and face to face. I wish some of my online friends lived closer as I would love to meet in person.

      Like

  2. Well said, Lesley!! So very true about the positives. Before I found this online community, I was alone in the blogging world, fumbling my way in the dark. I truly feel ‘connected’ to what God is doing through this amazing community! Thanks for sharing! Truly wise words, friend!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Amen! I have missed the FMF community so much. I haven’t written since before Thanksgiving and, as I’m on a Spirit-led sabbatical, I don’t know when I’ll join in again. But now that the holidays have passed and the craziness has died down, I can come back and comment on everyone’s great words. It’s a real blessing!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. “We are like islands in the sea, separate on the surface but connected in the deep.”
    (William James) Love this quote Lesley and your thoughts on connection! It has been such a blessing to read your blog and connect with you. Have a wonderful New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Michelle! I loved that quote when I found it. I think it sums up how we can have friendship and connection with people we’ve never met face to face because we are connected by our faith and shared experiences. So glad to have connected with you too!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Lesley,
    oh the “me too” moments you have caused in the couple of years I’ve known you here! 🙂 Too many to count. So so very thankful for your connection. I don’t even know where you live. I’m in Oregon.
    Love,
    Tammy

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Tammy. I feel like that about your posts too. Glad we can connect. I live in Scotland- so far away from most of you- but let me know if you ever visit. I’d love to meet in person!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Hi Lesley! I hope your Askimet problems have been solved. I use the blog technology all the time, but that sure doesn’t mean I understand it!
    I know what you mean about the friendships and ‘me too’ moments in connecting on-line. I never realized how big and wide the blogging universe is, or how warm and inviting it really is. I’m so glad you found a community to do bible study with, I really enjoy the give and take of that. So often I learn new insights too!
    May 2017 provide you with many ‘me too’ moments 🙂
    Ceil

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Ceil. They haven’t managed to sort the problem yet but are still looking into it.
      The blogging community is wonderful. We’re fortunate to be able to enjoy community both online and face to face and it’s great to learn from one another and find people who understand us.
      Happy New Year! I hope 2017 is good for you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

