Safe In His Hands

This post is written to link with Five Minute Friday: write for five minutes on a one word prompt.
The prompt today is “safe.”

fortress-doncaster-1742197_640

I stood in line for the flying fox, watching as my friend climbed up to take her turn and was fitted with her harness.  I felt a little anxious.  She had recently had some problems with her back and I wasn’t sure this was a good idea, but she was determined to have a go.

She got herself ready, but just as she was about to launch herself to begin the ride, I suddenly felt an overwhelming urge to pray for her safety.  The strength of it puzzled me- it felt so urgent, like it really mattered.  It didn’t make sense, but I had to pray, so I did, watching as she travelled all the way across, and breathing a sigh of relief when she made it safely to the other side.  I couldn’t understand why the urge to pray had been so strong, but my tendency is always to worry far too much, so I put it down to that.

It was only later, talking to someone else who had been at the other end of the flying fox when my friend came off, that I discovered what was behind it.  Her safety harness had not been fastened correctly, so if she had lost her grip, there would have been nothing to prevent her falling to the ground!

I had no idea of this at the time, and it scared me to think about what could have happened, but I’m convinced that God prompted me to pray and that somehow that was important in keeping her safe.

It caused me to reflect that, while I often seek safety through controlling circumstances, true safety is to be found in God, and that is where I should be looking.  It doesn’t dispense with the difficult questions about the times when people are not kept safe or protected from harm, but I think God probably protects us and keeps us safe more than we ever realise, and ultimately we have the assurance that our eternal future is safe in his hands.

“This I declare about the Lord: He alone is my refuge, my place of safety; he is my God, and I trust him.”  (Psalm 91:2 NLT)

 Crystal Twaddell      Grace & Truth : A Weekly Christian Link Up     

 

 

 

23 thoughts on “Safe In His Hands

  1. Oh, how true, when it all boils down, “You alone, O LORD, make me dwell in safety.” And what a great anecdote to show the importance of heeding those sudden nudges to pray! Your next-door neighbor today at FMF.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for sharing this beautiful testimony of God’s loving protection. I think you’re so right with “but I think God probably protects us and keeps us safe more than we ever realise, and ultimately we have the assurance that our eternal future is safe in his hands”. Looking back to our past, asking Him to reveal His Presence He can show us so much more of who He is.

    I am now starting to understand the truth that while we may forsake Him, He will never ever leave or forsake us from the moment we give our life to Him. Recently I asked God to show me who to pray Psalm 31 over and strangely He gave me the names of two Prodigals and as I prayed, He revealed why: He began to encourage me to pray with the assurance that the Spirit of God within them was stronger than any weapon of the enemy forged against them. That no blinding illness could forever keep them from the truth and comfort of His love.

    I don’t know why I never realized that His Spirit remains with us even when we turn away from Him, blinded to who He is. It has so blessed me too because it has opened my eyes to how much bigger His love is for me personally too. In the twenty years fleeing Him, thinking He was angry at me and I would never be enough for Him, He never ever left. It is He who orchestrated the chance meeting with my husband to be: the start I realize now of discovering that I too am fearfully and wonderfully made in His image, as my husband showed me that I am lovable, just the way I am.

    Absolutely no awful scheme of the enemy can remove us from His Sovereign and saving hand, as your testimony illustrates so beautifully today.

    Like

    1. Thanks for sharing your thoughts here, Anna. I love how God is always faithful to us and never gives up on us, even when we turn away from him.
      I love how as you look back you can see some of the ways God was at work, and it always gives me hope to remember that no matter how strong the enemy seems, God’s Spirit is stronger.

      Like

  3. It’s amazing how God laid it on your heart to pray, Lesley. It testifies to our need to never ignore those nudges of the Spirit. I’m so glad your friend didn’t fall! How true that God keeps us safe more often than we realize. Yes, He alone is our true safety! Have a blessed weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That’s really amazing. I suppose we could ask, “Why didn’t you receive a strong prompting to check the harness, instead of a strong prompting to pray?” But I think that’s all part of the mystery of God, and of prayer, isn’t it: dependence on God rather than on circumstances only. Thanks for sharing this experience; it’s encouraging.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you found it encouraging, Jeannie. It’s not easy to understand why God does things the way he does sometimes. We just have to try to be open to him and listen for his promptings.

      Like

  5. Hey Lesley! I’m so glad I stopped by (better late than never). What a great testimony! I LOVE hearting stories like that (even though I have terrible vertigo and just reading about the experience made me feel nauseous 🙂 )
    I wonder how many moments like that have happened over the years without us even knowing about it. God is so good!
    Have a great week!
    Shauna (your “fashionably late” neighbour way over in #96 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Shauna, you know you’re always welcome here! I’m glad you liked the story, even if you didn’t like the thought of the flying fox!
      I think there are probably more moments where God protects us like that than we ever realise. Hope your week is good too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

