Never Abandoned

This post is written to link with Five Minute Friday– write for five minutes on a one word prompt.  The prompt today is “abandon”.

Never Abandoned.png

The child felt abandoned.

She was loved, and in many ways she was surrounded by security, but over her generally happy life there was a dark shadow.

It seemed that no-one could see, and when she tried to speak she had not been understood. Her cries fell on deaf ears and she was abandoned to her fate.

Later, when it ended, the anxiety became overwhelming.  Again she felt abandoned.  No-one heard; no-one understood.  She didn’t even understand herself.

But fortunately there was one who did understand- one who saw her, one who pursued her, one who would never leave her.

And in a single moment, at nine years of age, it all slotted into place and made sense.  A God who cared, a God who had power, a God who loved, a God who sacrificed to put things right, a God who offered hope even in the midst of pain.

In her abandonment she turned to him and she knew him- a God who was there, a God who listened, a God she could talk to at night when there was no-one else to hear.

She was never abandoned, never alone, and he walked with her all the way, through everything that lay ahead.  He never left her side.

“Do not be afraid or discouraged, for the Lord will personally go ahead of you.  He will be with you; he will neither fail you nor abandon you.”  (Deuteronomy 31:8 NLT)

39 thoughts on “Never Abandoned

  1. Beautiful expression of reality. How incredibly wonderful that such things could come “slotting into place” for someone at that young age! The supernatural act of a benevolent God, I’d guess. I wish such truth had come to me at such a young age, but then my big time of abandonment pain–with its acompanying awakening–was slated later, by Him Who knows best. Thank you for this moving post. God’s rich blessings on your weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Sylvia. Yes, I’m sure it was an act of God’s grace, at a time when it was desperately needed. I’m glad you knew God with you in your abandonment too. Blessings to you!

      Like

  2. Such a beautiful post, Lesley. He is always there…even when we can’t feel His presence. That is where trust comes in, and we must choose fact over feeling. I love Him so much, and it seems the longer I live for Him and walk with Him, the more precious He is to my soul. Thank you for sharing your heart.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Cheryl. I thought of your post when I saw this prompt come up. It is important to trust that God is with us when our feelings don’t match up with the truth.

      Like

  3. My heart aches for that little girl, Lesley. I really identify with her. I am so grateful we have a God who sacrificed for us, a God who cares and loves us so much. And who has the power! As the song says, too, that every victory came through His power in us. Thank you for this encouraging message! Have a blessed, restful weekend! Hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Trudy. I know you understand this. I’m glad this post encouraged you. It is so reassuring to know that God never abandons us and that he can give us victory over our circumstances. Hope your weekend is good too. Love and hugs!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Lesley, I always get so much from your posts. Every word is so recognizable.
    I also love that you too shared Deuteronomy 31:8. It is in many ways my life verse though I didn’t quite realize until I noticed I write it ALL THE TIME. It is even engraved on a ring my husband had made for me.

    Have a blessed week.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Kelly. It’s a great verse- such a reassuring reminder. That’s a lovely idea to have it inscribed in a ring! I’ll be over to read your post soon

      Like

  5. Wow, Lesley, is this your story? You have such a beautiful way of drawing us in.
    Love this: “And in a single moment, at nine years of age, it all slotted into place and made sense.” I would love to know more. How, who, when?
    Thank you for taking us on a journey to hope.
    Shauna (your neighbour this week)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Shauna. Yes it is. I’m not quite sure why it came out in the third person but that’s the beauty of FMF- you just go with what comes!
      I’m glad you liked it. I’m not sure how to explain what happened except that it was God at work. I went to a church evening service for I think the only time in my childhood. (I usually went in the morning when there were children’s groups so I think this was the first time I had sat through a whole service.)
      I don’t even remember what was said, just the feeling of understanding what Jesus had done and that he was the way. I just went home and began praying, didn’t even tell anyone what had happened.
      I was struggling pretty badly with anxiety at the time and while it didn’t take it away, I definitely felt less alone and that there was hope.
      I’ll need to write about it more fully some time.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That is so beautiful! You definitely have to write it out in full. It just goes to show that we can NEVER look down on the seemingly small and immature experiences of our children. Their experiences are just as authentic and just as powerful—Holy Spirit is just as real to them!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes, I think people underestimate sometimes how much God can work in children, which is strange when Jesus held them up as an example to adults.

        Like

  6. Lesley, wow…this is so powerful!

    I had not the best childhood, and one day I realized that God was a Big Brother with wide shoulders and rock-like fists, and that I could put my heart in His care.

    I still fought after that, of course, but it was a watershed…the fight was now fun.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is an amazing blessing to have known God at that age. It’s only now I’m actually realizing how much. The important thing is to get to know him and trust though, whatever age we are, and he can make something beautiful even out of our past brokenness.

      Like

  7. Oh, Lesley, this hurt little girl sits within many of us, me included. I could truly relate to this post and how amazing it felt to encounter God’s unconditional love for the first time. You were pretty young to come to faith but how greatly it must have affected how you saw yourself in His eyes, as a beloved child of God, of infinite worth and value to Him. Our dark shadows can cling so tenaciously, yet God’s light and love help to dispel and overcome the darkness. Thank you for sharing so personally and powerfully. It’s an awesome testimony to God’s goodness and grace in our brokenness! Bless you. xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Joy. I’m sorry you can relate to the hurt little girl but I’m glad you have also experienced God’s love and healing. I love your comment that “Our dark shadows can cling so tenaciously, yet God’s light and love help to dispel and overcome the darkness.” That is so true. Praying you know his light and presence today.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Tammy. It’s strange how the pain ans hope mix together but that’s the reality of life. I love that God can wirk in it all and make something beautiful.

      Like

Leave a Reply

