Embracing God’s Will

This post is written to link with Five Minute Friday– write for five minutes on a one word prompt.
The prompt today is “embrace.”

success-846055_640

Just over a year ago I had a moment that changed my life.

A group that I had begun to get involved with in my church was beginning to transition into becoming a new church plant, and each person had been asked to make a decision about whether or not we were going to be part of it.

My initial reaction was that my answer would be “no.”  There were too many uncertainties and unknowns, too much fear about how it would turn out, too much concern that, while I applauded their vision, it wasn’t something I saw myself fitting in to.

But then there was that moment with God.

It was quiet and subtle from the outside, but totally transformative inwardly, and I knew that the answer had to be “yes,” that I had to set aside my fears and concerns and embrace this community.  I had to surrender (which was my word for the year)- give up my own will and embrace God’s.

A year later, I look back on this as one of the best decisions I have made.  As I have embraced this community, I have found myself embraced by them.  I feel valued and cared for in a way I hadn’t felt at church for a long time.  I feel included, rather than on the edge.  I feel I can be myself and be accepted.  And I see how God is using us in this community and I am excited by plans for the future.

I don’t mean to say that our church is perfect.  Of course there have been difficulties and frustrations, and there are still several uncertainties about the way ahead.

But I’m thankful to be in this place.  As I laid aside my own will to embrace God’s, it has led to blessings far greater than I would ever have imagined, and it encourages me that he really does know best.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart; do not depend on your own understanding.  Seek his will in all you do, and he will show you which path to take.  (Proverbs 3:5-6 NLT)

22 thoughts on “Embracing God’s Will

  1. God is teaching our family a LOT about laying aside our own will to embrace God’s lately. We have many things up in the air, including a new church home –so nerve wracking! I hate being unsettled! It seems we’re in a holding pattern; waiting for His lead. Everything’s to fresh for me to be thankful quite yet but I pray that soon I’ll be able to say as you have that “it has led to blessings far greater than I would ever have imagined”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Those times of waiting and uncertainty are certainly not easy. Praying that you and your family know God with you and that one day you will be able to see how God was working in your situation.

      Like

  2. I’m so grateful you feel valued and cared for in this new community, Lesley. That you can be yourself and be accepted. That is a precious gift! I remember how difficult it was for you to step out of your comfort zone and learn to embrace it, and I’m so glad you did. You are an inspiration to me. Love and hugs to you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I understand that moment that totally transform your life and who you are. The last two years have broken me and given me an even deeper desire to live by God’s will. After all He is who is filling those parts of me that shattered. Thank you for your words. They are wise and comforting. God bless you.
    Andrea, FMF neighbor #57

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lesley, this is so inspirational! I love how your obedient embracing of God’s will led to being able to embrace the idea of a new church plant and finding yourself lovingly embraced in the process. It’s such a beautiful picture of surrender being rewarded. So often we need the benefit of hindsight to see the great things God had planned for us all along! 🙂 xo

    Liked by 1 person

  5. It sounds like God has you right where you are supposed to be…what a blessed place to find that perfect center of His will. It is the only place of true peace and contentment. I wonder, throughout life, how many times we fail to find that because we refuse to do what you did and surrender? It is all He asks us to do, yet, we can be so obstinate and fight against it like a baby fighting sleep, when all along, it is the thing they need the most. I always find such edification here and such depth in your writing. God bless you, my friend. 🙂 Continue to shine for Jesus!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Cheryl. Yes I think we do miss out sometimes when we cling to our own will instead of embracing God’s. Surrender is not easy and there were definitely times when I fought against it last year (and when I still do) but I am learning that it is worth it when we do.

      Like

  6. Hi Lesley! It takes a lot of courage to act against your best thoughts, even when it’s God who calls you to do just that. But the rewards! I love that it all worked out so well for you, and the people you touched.
    Even if it hadn’t turned out just the way you thought it would, it would still have been a victory because you said ‘yes’. What a blessed event in your life!
    Ceil

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Ceil. So true that saying yes to God doesn’t always mean an obviously good outcome but we should still obey him. It is encouraging when we can look back at certain situations though and see how he was working it for good.

      Like

Leave a Reply

