Lights Of Hope

Treasures-in-the-Dark-797x406

“I will give you treasures hidden in the darkness – secret riches. I will do this so you may know that I am the Lord, the God of Israel, the one who calls you by name.” (Isaiah 45:3 NLT)

Sitting in the quiet of the chapel in the school where I worked, I read these words for the first time, and I felt hope ignite within me. Although they had been written long ago, it felt like God was speaking them directly to me, and it made me wonder:

Could there really be treasures hidden in the darkness – even in the darkness I faced?

Did God really see my struggles and call me by name?

For the last few years I had suffered spells of what I described as “the darkness.” It would come suddenly, with no warning, and when it did it felt like a light had been switched off inside me. Suddenly the world seemed black and hopeless, like there was a shadow over everything, like I wasn’t fully present. When the darkness came, it felt like it would last forever, but it never did.

After a couple of days, I would gradually be able to climb back towards the light and I would be okay… until the next time.

Please join me to read the rest of the story at Busy Being Blessed.

My post is part of a series called “Lights Of Hope” which features several writers sharing stories of how God met them in times of darkness.

Click here or on the image below to read some of the other posts in the series.

lights of hope

         purposefulfaith.com          Holly Barrett  

porch stories     heart encouragement   chasing community

 

14 thoughts on “Lights Of Hope

    1. I look forward to reading your post, Andrew. I think often one of the benefits of pain is that it increases our understanding and conpassion for others. It definitely helps when we can see some good coming from it.

      Like

  1. It’s easy to get discouraged when our prayers are not answered. It’s easy to doubt our value in God’s eyes.

    It’s good to read posts like this to remind us how blessed we are and that we need only wait for God’s time. He sees our struggles and calls us by name. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Lux. Yes, it is easy for hard times to make us doubt God’s care. Those moments when he assures us that he sees us and is with us are so important.

      Like

  2. So grateful for the hope you found. You’re courage to share your story means so much to all of us…giving us freedom to share our own. Thank you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

