The Truth Will Set You Free

This post is written to link with Five Minute Friday– write for five minutes on a one word prompt.  The prompt today is “truth.”  Also linking with Glimpses.

pretty-woman-1509956_1280

As I listened to my friend talk about how stupid she was and how fat she was and how much she hated herself, my heart was breaking.  How could I make her see the truth?

Of course I tried to tell her that she was intelligent and beautiful and kind and worth loving (all those things are true) and I gave examples of where I had seen those qualities in her, but I could see that the truth wasn’t penetrating.  The grip of the lies was too strong.

I see the same in myself at times.  I know the truth in my head and I agree with it in my mind, but it can’t seem to find its way through to my heart, to sink in deep enough that I actually feel it and live it.

Jesus said, “You will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.”  (John 8:32 NLT) But how does that work when the lies seem so strong?

Here’s what I’ve discovered: it’s a process.

We need to keep on filling our minds with truth, every day, and we need to keep speaking it to others.  It may not seem to be making an impact and we may not feel it straight away, but I think, often, even when it seems to be bouncing off, a little bit of truth seeps through the cracks, and gradually it chips away at the lies and loosens their grip.

That’s why it’s so important to spend time each day filling our minds with God’s truth.  As God’s Word goes out, it always bears fruit.  (Isaiah 55:11)  It may take a while before we see visible signs of growth, but if we keep going, eventually we will.

We need to keep speaking truth to others.  Sometimes our circumstances and feelings blind us to the truth and we need others to step in and correct our perspective.  Again we need to persevere even when it doesn’t seem to be making any difference.  It took a long time before I saw my friend begin to believe the truth about herself, and it’s still an ongoing process, but gradually the truth is beginning to sink in.

Let me finish with a song- I had a different one in mind to share but felt I should share this one instead as it fits so well with the prompt.  A few months ago, a friend (not the one I referred to above) sent me some lyrics and asked if I would write music to go along with them.   The song is called “Each Beat Of Flowing Truth” and the lyrics are a beautiful reminder of the truth of our identity in Christ and what God says about us.  It’s not the best quality recording, but I hope it encourages you today in God’s truth.

 Embracing Every Day

27 thoughts on “The Truth Will Set You Free

  1. Hi Neighbor!
    I’m your neighbor to the right on the link up at Kate’s today.
    I am so glad! I enjoyed your song a lot. Wow. I want to create my own songs or play praise songs on my acoustic guitar but am a long way off from you tube publishing! I am self taught on the guitar, but I can read music thanks to my childhood piano, bells, and choir days at church growing up.

    Thanks for sharing your friends beautiful piano music and adding such great lyrics to praise God! I liked your post as well. Hope your Friday is fun and faith filled!
    Jennifer k cook

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks I’m glad you liked the song. I only put it on YouTube initially as it was the easiest way to share with my friend who wrote the lyrics.
      We both shared it with a few people and it wasn’t really intended for a larger audience but I felt the lyrics fitted so well with this post that I wanted to include it.
      Hope you have a great Friday too!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is truth and yes, it’s a process. I’m often caught in the lies about myself too. Thanks for sharing the song and your tender counsel to your friend. Sweet, sweet truth.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks so much for sharing that song with us. It’s just beautiful. And I really like what you’ve written about the PROCESS of letting truth fill and shape us. The lies do not take root overnight, so it is bound to take time for them to be replaced by God’s truth. Thanks for writing; I appreciated your post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Jeannie! That’s true- with both the lies and the truth it’s a gradual process, but if we keep our focus on God’s truth it will take root in the end.

      Like

  4. I love the song – they lyrics, the music with it, and your voice, Lesley. Yes, those lies can have such a tight grip. It’s so encouraging that “even when it seems to be bouncing off, a little bit of truth seeps through the cracks, and gradually it chips away at the lies and loosens their grip.” There’s such hope in that. Love and hugs to you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Trudy- I’m glad you like it. It does give hope to think that if we keep on holding to the truth and speaking it to one another gradually it will make a difference. Love and hugs!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. We’ve been focusing onn replacing lies with truth in this week’s Bible study for a group I’m in, so your post hit home. I agree this is a process, probably a life long one for most of us. And I loved hearing a sample of the music you so obviously love creating.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lesley!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I finally get to see you and hear your lovely accent!! 😀
    This was beautiful!
    Also, I could so relate to what you said. That we MUST be filling our minds with truth every day in order to combat the war against us! I’ve succumbed recently to non-truth and needed to be reminded of what to do to battle it. Thank you, thank you, thank you!
    Love,
    Tammy
    (#5 this week on FMF)

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Hi Lesley! First of all, let me just say how brave you are to video yourself playing and singing, and how beautiful you sound. Thank you for this Sunday treat, it’s so lovely to see you!
    Yes, getting to the truth of what we are does take time. And who we surround ourselves with is so important too. We are fearfully and wonderfully made! It may take a lifetime to truly embrace that, but it’s the truth.
    Blessings,
    Ceil

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your encouragement, Ceil. It’s true that who we surround ourselves with is important. We all need people to remind us of the truth when we struggle to see it for ourselves.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. What a special post, Lesley! Your song made your words come alive in a special way. Yes, truth sets us free from the bondage of lies. But as you say, we must be “filling our minds with truth … speaking it to other.” Have a blessed week! -Alice Nine visiting from No. 8 at FMF this week.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. What a blessing to have friends that speak truth into our lives, and to be one of those friends to another. I know in my life they have been so powerful in impacting my view of myself and the world around me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

