July Reflections

summer-2539654_1280

And so another month has flown by and, as usual, I welcome this opportunity to pause and reflect on highlights and lessons learned.

New Discoveries/ Highlights: 

The focus for July, and definitely a highlight, was Music Camp: a week with a group of teenagers practising music, enjoying activities and exploring the Bible together- such a great combination!  It is always amazing to see how they develop throughout the week.  Every year at the first music rehearsal, I wonder if it will ever come together, and every year I am blown away by how good it sounds by the end of the week when they perform for friends and family.  I was so proud of how hard they worked and how much they had grown in confidence that I was holding back tears on several occasions during the concert.  It was exciting to see God at work in their lives too- to have the chance to answer their questions and speak with them about identity and holding to the truth of who they are in Christ.

On a less spiritual note, a highlight of the week, on our day trip to the beach, was discovering parma violet flavour ice cream.  (I realise that probably only people from the UK will have any idea what I am talking about, but parma violets are a kind of sweet I loved as a child, and they are even better as an ice cream!)

OK, back to being spiritual… a few other highlights this month have been times when I have suddenly realised God has been at work when I had no idea.  On one particular occasion, a conversation with someone just felt like hard work and I had no idea if anything I said was remotely helpful.  Then later I found out that God had used it in ways far beyond what I had imagined.  It reminds me to keep going and to trust God for the results.

If you’ve been following my monthly reviews from the start of this year, you might remember that for the first few months I included Bible verses I had been learning, but the last few months I haven’t listed any verses.  It’s not that I had given up- I just found that learning unrelated verses wasn’t really working for me.  Then I discovered a memory challenge to learn Colossians 3:1-17 and decided to give it a try.  For some reason, learning an extended passage of Scripture was actually easier for me, and over the course of 3 months I’ve learned all 17 verses!  Now I’m hoping to attempt to learn the whole of Romans 8 by the end of the year!  If you’re interested in looking at this approach, there are lots of resources for learning various chapters of the Bible available here.

My word for the year (Voice):

I have loved having this word as my word for the year until now but, honestly, this month has been hard.

On a few occasions I’ve felt God calling me out of my comfort zone to speak up about something and I’ve done this, only to feel ignored, that no-one is interested or that it hasn’t made any difference.  I’m holding on to the point I made above about God using us even when we’re not aware of it, but it has been discouraging at times.

Developing my writing voice has also been a focus this year and I’ve faced a few rejections this month.  I know it’s part of writing and everyone has to deal with it, but it is not easy when you pour your heart and soul into something and it is rejected.

The challenge for now is to fight through the discouragement and keep speaking out.  I love this quote from Jia Jiang:

“When we shy away from rejection, we reject ourselves and our ideas before the world ever has a chance to reject them.  This is the worst form of rejection.”

This encourages me that I need to keep believing in my own voice and putting it out there, both in speaking and writing, and to trust God for the results.

(Jia Jiang also has a very interesting blog and TED talk on the topic of rejection.  You can find out more here if you’re interested.)

July Playlist:

What A Beautiful Name- Hillsong Worship

This has definitely been the song of the month for me.  We finished each evening of Music Camp by singing this together just before the young people headed off to bed.

The Sound Of Surviving- Nichole Nordeman

How has July been for you?  Feel free to share a reflection or highlight in the comments.

Crystal Twaddell      Grace & Truth : A Weekly Christian Link Up    heart encouragement

       chasing community

10 thoughts on “July Reflections

  1. I always enjoy recap posts! I was also part of the Colossians 3 project, and have loved reviewing it. And I can heartily recommend Romans 8 as your next challenge. I cherish those verses, and try to review them regularly so they will stay with me.
    Blessings to you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the idea of a music camp where the kids are learning God’s word and praising Him. There is so much of what you share that I completely identify with…the rejection (though not through my writing), feeling called to have a voice, scripture memory, and music. Thank you for sharing your July with us. It’s a blessing to read!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love these kind of posts and I really like your word for the year! I am sure the challenge for having the word Voice would be when others (or yourself ) tries to silence you or tell you that you have nothing to say. Sounds like God is building your faith and confidence through this! You can great things to say!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Beautiful reflections, Lesley! Great reminder that what doesn’t look like it will come together does in the end. I find longer memory work easier too and love what it does in me as I go over and over and over each passage — working on Philippians now. What a challenging word of the year — praying you continue to hit the submit button!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You’re right; I have no idea what a parma violet is. 🙂 Thanks for educating us!

    I’m so glad you benefited by memorizing Colossians 3 too! I practiced saying it again today (I still don’t have it perfect) but more importantly I want to practice living it every day. Romans 8 is another great chapter to learn and I’m glad to see you’ve chosen it! I learned it a few years back, but I could use a refresher. Thanks for linking to Do Not Depart here.

    What a Beautiful Name has been my favorite song of late too!!! And now, “Reckless Love” is joining alongside it as a favorite. 🙂 Enjoyed your reflections here, Lesley.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m sorry you’ve missed out on parma violets! It is fun to learn more about things from different countries- I’ve had to look up quite a few things I’ve read about in other people’s blogs!
      The memory challenge was great- I wasn’t sure I’d make it but I got there! Definitely need to keep reviewing it though and, as you say, trying to live it out.
      I will need to listen to “Reckless Love”. I think I’ve heard it but it’s not one I’m very familiar with.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

