Two Years In The Spacious Place

This post is written to link with Five Minute Friday– write for five minutes on a one word prompt.  The prompt today is “place.”  Also linking with Glimpses, God-Sized Dreams and #GritUpAndGo Writer Share

spacious place

With this prompt there is only one Bible verse I could turn to- the verse that gave this blog its title when it began almost two years ago:

“He brought me out into a spacious place.  He rescued me because he delights in me.”  (Psalm 18:19 NIV)

Tuesday sees the second anniversary of this blog, so it seems fitting to look back and reflect on the verse that began it all.

The verse became special to me a few years before the blog began- over the period of a year where the concept of coming through a tight, narrow space out into a spacious place or an open space seemed to be coming up everywhere: in Bible verses, in dreams, in comments people made to me.  I wasn’t sure what the spacious place was or how to get there, but I had the sense that this was where God wanted to lead me.

I knew I was bound by chains of the past, which were holding me back and preventing me from living life fully, but I couldn’t seem to break free.  After over a year of seeking the spacious place, I finally made it, and when I did, I knew. It almost felt as if God broke something physically inside me and a weight was lifted, leaving me with a confidence and a sense of freedom I had never known.

When I began this blog, the verse came to me as a title.  I long to share truth and hope with others who feel bound and restricted, to help point them towards the life and freedom God offers.

There was also the sense that writing and blogging was part of my own exploration of the spacious place- learning to express myself, to find my voice, to share some of the lessons God has been teaching.

As I look back on the last two years, I’m grateful for the journey, grateful for those of you who have walked alongside me- some of you from the very start.

The spacious place is a place of God’s faithfulness to his promises.
It is a place of possibility, of opportunity, of exploration- a place of joy.
It is a place to run, but also a place to rest.
It is a place of confidence, of security, of freedom- of learning to walk with God and know him more.

It is a wonderful place to live and there is so much more to discover.  I hope you’ll continue joining me as we explore this place together!

Embracing Every Day  “God-Sized

 

39 thoughts on “Two Years In The Spacious Place

  1. Well, look who is just before me. What a treat. You know I was not aware of that scripture from Psalms until I first read your blog. I looked it up immediately. It certainly is full of symbolism for me now, too. Thank-you for letting me join your spacious place with such good thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you’re my neighbour today, Gabriele, and thank you for all your faithful encouragement over the last 2 years. So glad to introduce you to that Scripture and that you’ve joined me in this spacious place!

      Like

  2. Hi – coming to you via FMF because I also wrote about a spacious place! It’s great to hear how you’ve been flourishing and thriving.

    I write about the Bible, suffering and the messy edges of life over at my blog Thorns and Gold. Great to connect with you via FMF

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Tanya, it’s great to connect with you. I love your blog title and our topics sound pretty similar too. Look forward to visiting and reading your post too!

      Like

  3. Thank you Lesley. So glad you started this journey and congratulations on your second year! I agree that when we write God helps us understand ourselves by revealing, then He knows who else in this world needs the words. Looking forward to sharing more as time goes on with you, Julie

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks, Julie. Yes, I think writing can definitely help us understand ourselves more as well as being an encouragement to other people as we share. I’m glad we’ve connected over the last few weeks.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Celebrating with you, Lesley! I’m so glad that we’ve connected through this blogging thing. You have blessed me and taught me and reminded me so often to keep my eyes upon Jesus. You do a good and faithful work here!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Happy Bloggeversary! So fun to read about where your blog title came from. My post this week sublimenely tells the story of where my blog name comes from too. I’m in the 62 spot this week.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lesley, I’m so glad to discover your blog. Congratulations on your second blogaversary! I love the verse you featured today–and on which you base your blogging. Especially the “he delights in me” part. It’s a beautiful reminder of how God feels about us, even when we don’t always feel good about ourselves.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Wow, this prompt is so fitting for you, and the message you have to share of spacious places where God invites, and provides! “I long to share truth and hope with others who feel bound and restricted, to help point them towards the life and freedom God offers.” Amen to that! Thank you for your words that point to our freedom in Christ.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. At first I was actually slightly stumped by the prompt- then once I thought of this, it seemed so obvious! Thank for visiting, Lynn. Hope you have a great weekend!

      Like

    1. Thanks, Barbara. I think I explained the title once long ago, soon after I started. Since then it’s not something I have really thought about much so this prompt was a good opportunity to come back and reflect on that verse again.

      Like

  8. Lesley, it’s so fun to hear the back story to what got you here. Congrats on (almost) two years of blogging. I pray God continues to lead you to spacious places where you experience His love and protection.
    Blessings!
    Visiting today from #GRITupAndGo 🙂
    Marva | SunSparkleShine

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Oh my goodness, happy blogivesary!!! Two years is amazing. Blogs require so much blood, sweat, and tears (and mostly prayer). Congratulations on your consistency and faithfulness. Here’s to many more. Thank you for blessing us at #GritUp this week!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Leslie, I wish you a very happy blogoversary! The internet is a better place with you sharing in it.
    “It is a place to run, but also a place to rest.”
    I love that God offers us both.
    Thank you for sharing they why beyond the name of your blog. It was a perfect post. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

