Let There Be Light

This post is written to link with Five Minute Friday: write for five minutes on a one-word prompt.  The prompt today is “speak.”  This week there was a vote for the prompt, and I voted for “speak” as my word for the year is “voice” and I thought it would be interesting to read others’ insights.  Then I realised my post from Tuesday would have fitted well with the prompt and I had a total mind blank, but once I got going, I found there was more to say…

let there be light

We talked already this week about how words have power: power to build up and power to tear down, power to give life or to destroy it.

It strikes me though that words have power in other ways too.

Consider the first words ever spoken:

“Then God said, “Let there be light,” and there was light.”  (Genesis 1:3 NLT)

God spoke and his words brought light.

We may not be able to speak the universe into being, but our words can also bring light.  They can expose things that lie hidden and open up the way for truth and healing.

I remember the day my friend spoke her powerful words to me: “I have anorexia.”  I had suspected for a long time; then I’d known, but any attempts to talk about it had been brushed aside.  When she finally spoke it out and brought it into the light, she no longer had to walk alone.  It was the first step on the long, difficult journey of recovery.

Speaking to bring light into the darkness is tough:

  • “I’m sorry; I was wrong.”
  • “I’m struggling; I need help.”
  • “I was sexually abused.”

None of these words are easy to say.  Whether it’s an acknowledgement of sin, a request for help or opening up and being vulnerable about something that has happened in the past, the enemy will fight us every step of the way, trying to get us to remain silent because he knows that when we speak, the darkness is dispelled by light.

I know how hard it is, how much of a fight it can be to get those words out, but I also know the power there is when what was hidden in darkness is finally spoken out and brought into the light.

“This is the message we heard from Jesus and now declare to you: God is light, and there is no darkness in him at all… If we are living in the light, as God is in the light, we have fellowship with each other, and the blood of Jesus, his Son, cleanses us from all sin.” 
(1 John 1:5,7 NLT)

speak-even-if-your-voice-is-trembling-please-youve-been-quiet-for-so-long-believe-itll-be-worth-the-risk-youre-taking-what-if-the-path-you-choose-becomes-a-road

22 thoughts on “Let There Be Light

  1. Lesley, such truth you touch upon. It is only through exposing our shames and fears and hidden sins to the light, which is done through voicing them aloud to another, can the healing start and community built so we don’t have to be an island and do it alone. Satan wants us to be ashamed to speak the truth and stay isolated. God wants us to share and join community. Thanks for your lovely post.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lesley, I like your “take” on this week’s word. The image of God speaking everything—everyone—into being is so amazing. And then His desire to use us to speak Truth, albeit often uncomfortable, to ourselves and others is quite humbling. But we must… when led. Great thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dragging the dark words into the light where they can be scrubbed clean. A hard job, especially when the darkness seems bigger and greater than the light. May Jesus give us strength to be honest and loving, to expose what needs to be exposed, and to speak truth always.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yes. Beauty and truth. Good words here, Lesley. Sometimes the words of light and life we need to speak are to our very selves first, as you make evident here, and then to someone else, to break open the dark sealed container of secrecy and silence and let the light pour in, then out..

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Lesley,
    providing that safe place to speak is such a gift you have! 🙂 Beautiful post. I hope others will take that brave step toward freedom and acknowledgment that they are not alone in their suffering. That healing will come through this first step.
    Bless you, dear friend!
    Love,
    Tammy
    (#77 this week)

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thanks for writing. I love the thought about speaking light into the darkness that is so needed right now. I’m #81 on FMF this week. I wanted to stop by since you commented on my blog. Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

