August Reflections

dahlias-2631979_1280

Most of this year seems to have flown by, but somehow, to my relief, August seems to have gone  a little slower… or maybe it’s just that I’ve packed a lot in.

New Discoveries/ Highlights:

It is by far the busiest month in the city where I live, and the pace of moving around is certainly much slower with busy roads, packed buses and tourists everywhere.  As a local, the choice is either to be grumpy about the fact that getting from A to B takes at least twice as long as normal, or to slow down and embrace the festive atmosphere.

I opted for the latter this year and I’m glad.  It is genuinely a lot of fun as long as you’re not in a hurry and there are many weird and wonderful sights to be seen.  It encourages me to take the same approach at other times of the year too- to slow down enough to notice and appreciate all that is around me instead of rushing on by.

This month I discovered again how much I need music in my life.  On a day when I was feeling particularly stressed I went along to a performance of the musical “Guys And Dolls” and the moment the lights went down and the familiar notes of the overture sounded, I could feel myself physically relax.  A couple of hours immersed in the music and story that I knew and loved was exactly what I needed, and I hadn’t noticed before just how therapeutic it could be.

I mentioned that there were some weird and wonderful sights to be seen this month; one of the most unique of these was the Knitted Bible Stories Exhibition!

20170826_161110.jpg

A group of ladies in England had spent ten months knitting to recreate various Bible scenes from wool and then taken the exhibition on tour!  I don’t think I’d have the patience, but the amount of detail they had included was incredible, and it was certainly a fresh way to bring Bible stories to life and get people talking about them.

20170826_161556.jpg

20170826_161855

Other than that, I have enjoyed some good books in August.  I reviewed Single Gay Christian by Gregory Coles and Deeper Waters by Denise J. Hughes here and would highly recommend both of these, but I also enjoyed a few fiction books- in particular Dear Mr Knightley by Katherine Reay and The Light Between Oceans by ML Stedman.  I feel as if I may have been the last person in the world to read this book as I have heard so many people talk about it, but if there is anyone out there who hasn’t read it I would definitely encourage you to consider it.

My word for the year (Voice):

This has not been a month for fresh insights but more a time to continue putting into practice all that I have already reflected on this year: making time to listen to God, listening well to others, pushing myself to speak up when the time is right, and developing my writing voice.

My main news for this month is that I have booked to go to my first ever writing conference in October!

With so many people talking about the Five Minute Friday Retreat, She Speaks and other conferences over the last couple of months, I wished they weren’t all so far away, and I began looking to see if there was anything closer at hand.

I discovered a Christian writers group in the UK and saw that they were having a day conference in London, which is still a long way to travel, but a lot closer than Missouri or North Carolina! (And it provides an opportunity for some more musical theatre therapy! 🙂 )

What excited me about the conference is that the topics for look ideal for what I want to do with my writing.  The two main sessions are on Telling God’s Stories and Telling Our Stories.  Even better, the speaker for the second session is Emma Scrivener, whose writing has already been a huge influence for me.

Her blog was one of the first I ever read, long before I considered writing myself, her book “A New Name” in which she tells the story of her journey with anorexia helped me hugely as I attempted to support a friend through the same struggle, and one of her blog posts particularly helped in giving me the courage to share parts of my story here.

It seems fitting that she should be part of my first writing conference and I’m looking forward to hearing her speak in person.

I’ve also had some contact, through a Facebook group, with some of the others who will be attending, and while it is a little intimidating as so many of them are published authors and far, far more accomplished than I am, they have all been lovely and very welcoming and I’m sure this will be a experience that will teach me a lot.

August Playlist:

Every Mile Mattered- Nichole Nordeman

“It’s history; you can’t rewrite it.
You’re not meant to be trapped inside it.
Every tear brought you here,
Every sorrow gathered.
Yeah, it’s history, and every mile mattered.”

Free As A Bird- Rend Collective

“You break us out of our cages
Into the wide open spaces.
We are free, free as a bird on the wind.”

How was August for you?  Feel free to share a highlight or reflection in the comments.

purposefulfaith.com          Embracing Every Day  Picture            

        chasing communityheart encouragement

32 thoughts on “August Reflections

  1. Lesley, I think you are going to gave a blast at the conference. Attending a writing conference is on my bucket list too. And Rend Collective is one of my all time favorite Christian groups!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so very excited for you to go to your first writer’s conference! I know the feeling about everything seeming far away (though not as far for me as it seems for you). There is one in my state in October as well, and I am praying for the funds to make it possible.

    And your fiction choices are fantastic. I loved both of those books!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow, the knitted bible is fascinating. A lot of work must have gone in to that. I find music calms my soul so much. In 9 years of blogging, I’ve never made to any conference due to the fact I can never afford to travel to where it’s hat. I’m still hopeful to get there one day. Blessings for a beautiful week.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Lesley! I always enjoy your monthly reflections. I love those knitted Bible Stories! What a lot of work and creativity went into them! I’m looking forward to hearing what you glean from the writers’ conference. I have never heard the last song here. It brings tears to my eyes and a deep longing to be totally free to fly. Someday there will be no hindrances, right? 🙂 Blessings and hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Trudy! I’m glad you liked the knitted Bible characters, and the song. It’s from a couple of years ago but I hadn’t heard it either until a few weeks ago. I’m glad to introduce you to it since you have introduced me to so many great songs. Yes, it is amazing to think that one day we will be completely free to fly. Love and hugs!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. What a great collection of reflections, Lesley. My daughter loves to crochet and has taught herself to knit too, and we both enjoyed learning about the knitted Bible story exhibition. So creative! Katherine Reay is one of my favorite authors, and I think “Dear Mr. Knightley” is my favorite book by her. I’m glad you get to go to a writer’s conference too … I hope it’s a wonderful and educational experience for you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you and your daughter liked hearing about the exhibition. I really enjoyed “Dear Mr Knightley” though it was quite different from anything I’ve read before. I’d heard a lot of people recommend it. I’m looking forward to the writing conference- I’m sure I’ll write a post when I get back and let you all know how it went!

      Like

  6. Awww, Lesley, it sounds like August was a wonderful month for you! And I hope your first-ever writer’s conference is AMAZING!!! I’ve heard good things about the two fiction books you read, and I want to read both. Too bad my TBR list is HUGE right now. 🙂

    I’m with you with music. I’ve had some very stressful months this year. I’m turning back to more and more worship. There’s power in music.

    Loved reading about your month!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. What an interesting blend of events and doings. So very glad you’ve found a writing conference to attend. I can only imagine how much you will be inspired and refreshed by it. And I do love Rend Collective 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Valerie, I really liked Dear Mr Knightley. It was quite different from anything I’d read before and I wasn’t sure what to expect. The first few chapters I wasn’t sure if I liked it but then I got caught up in it and wanted to keep reading more.
      Thanks for your good wishes for the writing conference- I’ll let you know how it goes.

      Like

  8. Lesley, what an extraordinary month you had! I’miss betting it was because of your positive attitude. I love musical theater, too. I keep all my favorite musicals on dvr for comfort viewing and listening. Blessings on your new adventures, and especially the writers’ conference.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. 1. I LOVE musicals:) 2. I’m so excited that you’re going to a writers’ conference!!! I’ve experienced so much growth there, mainly due to the encouragement and challenges fellow writers give. These online communities are amazing, but face to face is overwhelmingly wonderful. I can’t wait to hear about your experience. By the way, I have family in Walsall. What part of the country are you in?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Meg! I’m glad you’re a fellow musical fan! And I’m looking forward to the writing conference. I have made some wonderful writing friends online but I have never met any of them face to face so I am looking forward to connecting with people who live a bit closer. That’s great that you have family in the UK. I’m in Edinburgh.

      Like

  10. Enjoyed reading about your reflections. The knitted bible scenes were quite unique. Not something I would want to knit, but something I would definitely like to see. And thanks for reminding me about the book Mr. Knightly. A friend recommended it awhile ago and it slipped my mind, but now . . . I am ordering it from the library.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

