The Work Of Teamwork

This post is written to link with Five Minute Friday– write for five minutes on a one word prompt.  The prompt today is “work.”

action-2277292_640

One of the greatest joys and challenges I face at work is working as part of a team.  I love the people I work with- we get on well, we have fun together and we pull together- but it can be challenging at times just because our personalities are so different and our minds work in different ways.

One person in particular is full of big ideas- sometimes fantastic ideas, sometime over-ambitious.  I love his passion and his enthusiasm, but I also struggle because our minds respond to these ideas in very different ways.

He sees the big picture, and his vision is one of excitement and possibility.  I see all the detail, all at once, and it hurts.

He has a dream for the future, for what the outcome will be, for how amazing it will be if these plans come to fruition.  I see all the steps it will take to get there- the work and the time and the resources and the challenges, and it becomes overwhelming.

It’s been a learning process for both of us.

Firstly to understand that our minds work in different ways and that’s just how we’re made.  I have had to learn that he processes verbally- that often when he talks he is thinking out loud, so he’s not expecting all of his ideas to become reality.  He has had to learn that I process inwardly- so when I’m quiet, it’s probably because I’m thinking, and when I say something it is not thinking aloud, but something I’ve already carefully considered.

We’ve also had to learn to appreciate one another.  It’s good to dream and have big visions, but the detail of what it will take to make it a reality is important too.  I have learned to take a step back at times to consider the potential of his ideas without focussing on the detail.  He has learned that when I comment on the challenges of making the dreams a reality that I’m not trying to be negative, and that often I am raising important points that need to be considered.

Teamwork is great, but it does take effort.  It definitely takes work to work as a team, but we need each other, and in the end it is worth it.

If the whole body were an eye, how would you hear? Or if your whole body were an ear, how would you smell anything?  But our bodies have many parts, and God has put each part just where he wants it.  (1 Corinthians 12:17-18 NLT)

 

 

22 thoughts on “The Work Of Teamwork

  1. Very true. Different personalities do put the “work” in teamwork, but I like how you’ve spelled out your differences, (and how they can both be valuable) and how you have learned to see things from both sides. What potential a team has when they can learn to work together. And, I like the verse you added at the end. Great job! I’m your neighbor this week on FMF. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So true! Much of our work is intangible, being constructed in ideas, thoughts, and discussion. Your scenario reminds me of how my hubby and I work together. We need each other and the giftings we both have. Most importantly we need to be under the Headship of Christ so we work as a unified team. Visiting from FMF #37.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you, Lesley, for speaking something that happens sometimes even in our own families. I have had to learn to step back and allow our oldest son to process his thoughts before expecting a response. Yes, Jesus wants us all to work as a team. Have such a good weekend. Blessings and In Him, Julie

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is such a great personal study in working with differing personalities. I can relate to your big picture co-worker. I wonder if you might be just the right balance with your detail orientedness. You can ground the hot air balloon and prep it before it flies. Maybe that’s overly metaphorical! I love that you are working through the difficulties, seeing the gifts and appreciating them. Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. so true lesley! it can be especially challenging when those 2 people are in a marriage:) i was the dreamer, my husband, the quieter, more detail oriented one. it took me awhile to understand why he was never enthusiastic over my ideas. it also took him awhile to understand why i didn’ t have an appreciation for all the details.

    however, over the years, we have each become more aware of the other side of the coin involved in projects getting done.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. As one of those who processes inwardly, I can identify with the challenge of working with someone who processes ideas verbally. It was helpful when I realized that what I saw as the constant chatter of some colleagues was in fact verbal processing. I admit, however, that for an introvert like myself, it can still be taxing at times, even with that knowledge. The beauty of diversity. 🙂 Visiting from FMF.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Diversity is important, but it can be challenging for everyone I think when people work in very different ways. Understanding definitely helps but I agree, it can still be a challenge at times.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Love this thoughtful and grace-filled meditation on teamwork, Lesley.

    I come from a fairly authoritarian background, and teamwork usually meant giving orders, and making sure I followed through on orders that were given me. it works, after a fashion…as long as the person giving the orders is not a RM sub-lieutenant with a map, which is the most frightful combination of fell factors in military usage.

    Sub-lieutenant is not a rank. It’s a diagnosis.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Lesley, I love how you totally nail that working as a team takes work and part of that too is in knowing your teammate. You and he both have been learning or are in the process of learning how each of you works and works best. I bet a lot of work frustration would be solved if we would all stop once in while and try to understand the other person and their process.

    Have a wonderful week!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Kelly! Yes, I have found that making an effort to understand has helped a lot. It is much easier when we realise that someone is not behaving in a certain way to annoy us- it’s just that they function differently. Hope you have a great week too!

      Like

  9. Hi Lesley! It can be a learning curve to settle in with someone who thinks differently than I do, that’s for sure. But how else will I learn? It doesn’t stretch me much if I hang around only with people who agree with me.
    I hope I can always be a ‘team player’!
    Blessings,
    Ceil

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

